Warm GF Cauliflower-Based Quesadilla-Style Sandies with Clams, Leek, Sprouts and Cheese

Contains:  Shellfish. dairy, optional nightshade.  Is:  Gluten-free, nut-free, quick and easy.

quesadilla, gluten-free, cauliflower wrap, clams, cheese, nut-free, recipe

These wraps look intriguing; I like cauliflower, and I do know people who need to be gluten-free, for whom I appreciate the honor to cook.  What’s not to like about experimenting?  And the local mart actually had chopped clams (probably mostly destined for New England clam chowder, but who’s noticing?  (Some of my gain may end up in a Rhode Island chowder, which I actually prefer.)

The wrap:  Ingredients according to the packaging are cauliflower puree, tapioca flour, cassava flour, chickpea flour, palm fruit oil, water, guar gum, apple cider vinegar, sea salt, xanthan gum, garlic powder, yeast, cellulose gum, rosemary extract, calcium propionate, ascorbic acid.  Better than some ingredient lists I’ve read!!!  But of course, use any wrap you like or have to hand.

Natter and notes follow the recipe.

Prep Time:  10-15 minutes.
Cook Time: About 15 minutes. 
Rest Time: Not needed.
Serves: 1 wrap per person.  Recipe designed for one person; scale up.
Cuisine:  American.
Leftovers:  Possible, but not recommended.

Warm GF Cauliflower-Based Wrap with Clams, Shallots, Sprouts and Cheese

INGREDIENTS: (Per person)

  • Two tortilla or burrito sized wraps (I used that cauliflower-gluten free one).  
  • 1 slice of bacon.
  • 2-3 ounces of chopped clams, drained.
  • 1 white part of a small leek, chopped.
  • 2 ounces mung bean sprouts
  • 2-3 ounces a nice melting cheese, preferably on a milder side (I went with Fontina).  You may slice thinly or grate this cheese.  
  • 1/3 teaspoon hot paprika, smoked or otherwise
  • Ground black pepper to taste
  • (I can see an optional thin slice or two of a colorful bell pepper, coarsely chopped…)
  • A splash of cooking oil.   (You can also use leftover bacon fat instead)

METHOD:

Prepare everything for cooking.

Cook the bacon to crispy but not burnt in a hot skillet.  Set aside to drain, and to break into small pieces once cool enough.

Add the clams and leeks (and bell pepper, if using) to the still-hot skillet.  Stir about four or five minutes, but don’t allow the clams to go tough.  (I like my bell pepper au dente – if you prefer it very soft, add that first for three earlier minutes, then add the other ingredients.)

Add the mung bean sprouts and seasonings for a minute, stirring.

Remove everything solid from the skillet, leaving liquids behind.  Mix in the bacon with the clams and veggies on the side.

Remove liquids from the skillet, and add a little cooking oil.  Turn heat to low.  Lay down one wrap, flat.  Sprinkle ingredients (clam, bacon etc.) over the top of the wrap.  Layer the cheese over this.  Top with the second wrap, as per a quesadilla.  Cover and cook a couple of minutes, then gently flip with a spatula.  Cook the other side another minute or two.

Slide off onto a plate, slice, and serve.  Enjoy hot or while still warm.

quesadilla, gluten-free, cauliflower wrap, clams, cheese, nut-free, recipe

NOTE 1:  For a decent Rhode Island chowder (sometimes mistaken for a “clear chowder”, look here.)  A clear chowder seems devoid of taste, but a good Rhode Island chowder is to me the best there is.  It is somewhat clear.  I do enjoy a well-made New England clam chowder, and have not run into a Manhattan (tomato-based) clam chowder that I personally want to eat again.  PS:  I balk at corn chowders.  I like corn in some formats, but that ain’t one of them!

NOTE 2:  Although I live in Massachusetts, this western region I live in of the state seems devoid of the types and quality of seafood that I used to get when living in the Danbury region of Connecticut.  One of the very very few disappointments I’ve had regarding moving here.  So — when I find something fresh and fascinating in the seafood department – I SNAG it!  Even when I don’t have an immediate plan for usage.

NOTE 3:  I enjoy melty cheese; and I like my wraps best warmed.  You don’t have to warm this up (beyond cooking the clam chunks) to make this.  (You may want to take some astringency out of the shallots with mild cooking, but even this is not essential.)

NOTE 4:  This is my first time using this sort of tortilla wrap.  The taste was not heavily of cauliflower (l really like cauliflower, so it would have been fine if it had.)  The texture works, too.   Unfortunately there are only five wraps per bag – these do cost more than the regular types of tortillas.  I will likely try at least one of these as a regular wrap.

quesadilla, gluten-free, cauliflower wrap, clams, cheese, nut-free, recipe

Lets’ hear it for Link Parties:

Fiesta Friday, with Co-Host:   Jhuls @ The Not So Creative Cook

Farmstead Friday.

Full Plate Thursday.

What’s for Dinner? Sunday Link-Up.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Warm GF Cauliflower-Based Quesadilla-Style Sandies with Clams, Leek, Sprouts and Cheese

  1. Jhuls says:

    I haven’t seen cauliflower-based wrap around here, but I am sure this tastes good as well. I would love to have this for a light dinner. Sounds fab! Thanks a bunch for sharing at Fiesta Friday party! I hope to see you next week.

  2. helenfern says:

    Thanks for sharing at the What’s for Dinner party – hope your week is wonderful.

Leave a comment