Filipino Kare-Kare with Tripe

Contains:  Offal, peanuts, optional shellfish and nightshades.  Is:  Gluten-free.

Time for more tripe…  At the end of this recipe I’ll put in links to the two previous tripe recipes I’ve made for this blog.  In addition, this one is for my February honoring of the Asian Lunar New Year, by making Asian recipes from certain regions of that continent.  .  

recipe, Filipino, tripe, offal, peanuts, kare-kare

A little bit too much of that Filipino shrimp paste, eh? I did have leftover tripe kare-kare where I minimized this serving condiment!

This YouTube recipe simply looked extremely tasty to me.  Yes, tripe (the stomach lining usually obtained from ungulate mammals) is an acquired taste, but Dad used to make an Italian tripe marinara when we were kids.  So, I didn’t end up with the “skeeve” factor over that ingredient.  What can I say?  I was a weird kid.  (Arguably STILL weird, despite no longer being a kid…)  

recipe, Filipino, tripe, offal, peanuts, kare-kare

The Filipino shrimp paste, and the glutinous rice flour

I followed the recipe as close as possible for the Filipino / Pinoy Kare-Kare tripe that I found on YouTube.  I didn’t have long beans, so I substituted in green beans, which probably ended up softer than the ones the source recipe used.  Oh, well.  No bok choy was at my local supermarkets… which I don’t understand as this is usually there.  Okay, Swiss chard (another brassica family member) had to be used instead..  Or, maybe try cabbage, preferably Savoy or similar?  

Kare-Kare (Tripe) – YouTube   And the recipe proper is in the video description box.  I did adapt out of ingredient necessity.  I also likely had more peanut in this than needed.  I also used the red bell pepper for photographic color.  

f-tripe cooking

Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time:   1.45 hours
Rest Time: Not needed.
Serves:  3-4.
Cuisine:  Filipino,
Leftovers:  Yes.  Refrigerate.

Filipino Kare-Kare Tripe

Note:  1 tablespoon = 15 mL in most of the world.  I just learned Australia/New Zeeland use 20 mL.

  • 1 pound / grams beef tripe, sliced into about 1 inch / 2.5 cm squares.  If possible, buy the pre-cleaned.
  • 1 teaspoon beef ” ” or equivalent.
  • 1/2 bunch baby bok choy (if you don’t have, Napa or savoy cabbage will work – I used Swiss chard.  Keep it in the leafy section of the brassica family.).  Chop it coarsely.
  • 5-10 string beans, cut into 2 inch / 5 cm pieces
  • 1 small Chinese eggplant, sliced
  • 1/2 a sliced bell pepper, colorful.
  • 0.75 cup / 180 mL peanut paste [I used peanut butter] without additives, smooth and creamy.  You can pound peanuts down yourself, but that sounded too much like work.  
  • 1/4 cup / 60 mL annatto seeds
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • minced 2 cloves garlic,
  • 0.75 tablespoons glutinous rice flour
  • 3 cups / 700 mL water
  • 1.5 tablespoons cooking oil
  • Ground black pepper 
  • shrimp paste (bagoong alamang) to taste
  • Cooked warm rice.  

Add two cups / 475 mL of water and your tripe to a pot.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a heavy simmer, for about one hour.  Drain, and set tripe aside.  

In a small pot, boil annatto seeds in 0.75 cups / 180 mL water, for 2 minutes.  

Boil 1 ½ cups / 350 mLwater in a small pot. Add annatto seeds. Continue to boil for 2 minutes. Set aside to soak further.  .  

In a larger pot, heat the oil, and saute onion for about 10 minutes, until the onion softens.  Add the garlic and sauté that for 1-2 minutes. 

Add the tripe, and sauté for a minute.  Pour annatto water into the pot through a sieve or filter, discarding the seeds.  Allow the pot to boil.  

Add the beef bouillon, and stir,  Follow this with the peanut paste.  Add  the remaining water.

Allow this to boil for 8 minutes.  

In a small bowl, combine the rice flour with 1/8 cup / 30,mL of water, and mix until blended.  This is your thickening agent.  When mixed, pour this into the pot, and mix.  Stir and cook further to your preferred sauce texture.  (If this gets too thick – mine did – add more water.)

At this point, you can add your beans, bell pepper, and eggplant.  Cook five more minutes, then add the bok choy or other brassica.  Cook another minute, remove from heat, adding black pepper to taste.  

In individual serving bowls, add your cooked warm rice, topping with the kare kare and a little bagoong alamang (Filipino shrimp paste).  (Note, it is very salty and somewhat hot!)  

f-tripe-logo

Other Tripe Recipes at This Blog

İşkembe Çorbası: A Turkish Tripe Soup

Menudo Soup (A Mexican Tripe Dish)

I rate the other two as A+, this one I rate as B+, and it was best the first day.  You may want to hold out some of the leafy brassica if you plan to eat of this for a next day or so, as the leaf texture declines with soaking – add it upon re-heating.  Also,  add in the bagoong alamang upon re-heating.  (By the second time, if you’ve never eaten this before, you’ll have a better idea how much to add, anyway!)  

tripe, radiatore

Just for fun: comparing honeycomb tripe with radiatore pasta. Both have crevices which will hold sauce; and both, when you come down to it, are rather neutral in flavor on their own.

(I have another pound of tripe in my freezer… what will I create next?  Which culture will I next visit culinarily???)  

Shared with:  

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Asian & Asian Influenced, Cooking, Meats, Offal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Filipino Kare-Kare with Tripe

  1. Jhuls says:

    OMG!! I thought it is from a Filipino blogger. I am surprised when I clicked the link and it led me to your blog. I made Kare-Kare before, I think thrice. It is one of my favorite dishes, but it sounds too complicated to me. And as a Filipino, it might sound strange to others.

    I must say that you did very well and oh wow, you even got with you the bagoong. Ahhhh! I am craving this now!! It looks really appetizing! Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday party!

    • Thanks! It was something really fun to try – and Amazon came through with the bagoong, which was certainly a new condiment to me. Glad it seemed reasonably authentic to you!! Means a lot!

  2. helenfern says:

    Sounds really good. Tripe is really good when prepared right! Thanks for sharing at the What’s for Dinner party. Enjoy the rest of your week.

  3. Miz Helen says:

    What a great recipe, my husband would love this, I will have to make it for him. Thanks so much for sharing with us at Full Plate Thursday,526. Have a great week and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a comment