Pork Tacos and Veggies in Soft Corn Tortillas – Leftover Pork Shoulder Roast

Contains:  Nightshades, grains. Is:  Mexican-inspired, gluten-free, working with leftovers.

pork, tacos,

For this recipe, I used leftover pork  from the Pork Shoulder Roast with Pumpkin, Peppers and Onion recipe I posted yesterday.  I cooked portions of the leftovers further, for shredding-into-taco purposes.

taco, pork, recipe

I didn’t measure anything in this recipe.  This is simply presented as an idea for dealing with leftover pork that would work nicely in tortillas.  You can use hard shells, or even wheat shells, but I like the distinctive taste of the corn ones, and for my gluten-free readership, the corn ones are beneficial.

I ended up using Kashkaval cheese, a Bulgarian melting cheese (the package was open), but use what you prefer.  Monterey Jack, pepper Jack, cheddar… or, Mexican Cotija all work in a more Mexican or Tex-Mex tradition.

I figure this recipe can gear towards TWO tacos per person, especially at lunch, which is when I had them.  I shredded up more lettuce than required – hey, I ate that on the side!

taco, recipe, pork

 

Prep Time: 20 minutes.
Cook Time: Maybe 30 minutes at most.
Rest Time:  Not needed.
Serves: 2 tacos per person.
Cuisine:  Mexican-Inspired, Tex-Mex.
Leftovers:  These are already from leftovers…  A complete taco with fresh greens will likely wilt.

Pork Tacos and Veggies in Soft Corn Tortillas

  • About 4 ounces of leftover pork shoulder meat
  • About 3 ounces of leftover potato, cubed.
  • Sauce/gravy from the pork and potato dish (this can be whatever you have, but for me contained the pumpkin, onion and Mexican peppers from the previous dish.  
  • 2 soft corn tortillas (or hard corn, or soft wheat, if preferred)
  • About 2 ounces of coarsely grated melt-able cheese.  Grate it yourself!  
  • An ounce or two of bell pepper, cut into slivers. Red would be most attractive, IF you happen to have.
  • Shredded lettuce, crispy.  A goodly handful.  
  • SOME OPTIONALS:  Salsa, roja or verde (red or green).  Sour cream.  Guacamole, Cilantro.

I took some of the aforementioned pork, potatoes, and that pumpkin/peppers/onion gravy leftovers from the previous Pork Shoulder recipe, placed it in a skillet, turned heat up to medium, covered it, and cooked for another half hour, flipping occasionally, and lightly shredding or cutting up the meat towards the end.

Towards the end, I added in the two tortillas so they could heat up slightly under the cover, via the action of a bit of warmth and steam.  (This would not work for a hard shelled taco.)

As I like my cheese in a taco to at the very least BEGIN to melt, when I removed the tortillas, I added half the cheese as the bottom layer of each taco.  You can add it right after the meat/potato gravy layer to the same effect.    Again, divvy the meat/potato/gravy half to each tortilla.

Then add half the slivers of pepper (or what will reasonably fit) and a scoop of lettuce.   If desired, add any or all of the potential toppings mentioned above, fold and eat.  Yes, a bit messy, but oh so good!

Pork tacos, leftovers,

Shared with:  


.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Meats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pork Tacos and Veggies in Soft Corn Tortillas – Leftover Pork Shoulder Roast

  1. Stacie says:

    I love repurposing leftovers!! These look great! Joining you from the Farm Fresh Tuesday Hop!

  2. Pingback: Pork Tacos and Veggies in Soft Corn Tortillas – Leftover Pork Shoulder Roast — Of Goats and Greens | My Meals are on Wheels

  3. My favorite way to use leftover pork. In the pre-covid days we would put out all the various toppings that we could think of or had in the fridge, and invite the neighbors for a feast. All you need is a pitcher of margaritas.

  4. helenfern says:

    A little late, but – Thanks for sharing at last week’s What’s for Dinner party! Hope to see you this week too! Enjoy your day.

Leave a comment