Cinco de Mayo: Cilantro/Lime/Avocado Taco Dressing

I’m feeding 14-16 people tomorrow for Cinco de Mayo, and I hope to have a more intensive recipe to show for it next week… I’m not finishing off most of these recipes until I’m just about to serve them, and I certainly won’t have time to write anything up tomorrow!

But in the interim, I’ve made a few taco dressings.

cilantro, lime, avocado, sour cream, taco dressing, vegetarian, recipe

Nice, rich, creamy

One is the Teriyaki Taco dressing I made a few blog posts back, but another is a dressing made of sour cream, avocado, cilantro and lime.

Prep Time:  5 minutes
Cook time:  None
Rest Time: Let it meld for a few hours or overnight
Serves:  I’ll find out!

Cilantro/Lime/Avocado/Sour Cream Taco Dressing

  • 1 ounce cilantro, stems are fine.
  • 1 large avocado, peeled, pitted, and roughly chopped
  • Juice of one juicy lime
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic paste
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/8 teaspoon sea salt.

Place in a small but steep-sided bowl, and have at it with an immersion blender.

Reserve in fridge until use – make a day ahead for flavors to meld.

PS:  my planned menu is:  (Not counting snacks/appetizers)

  • Vegetarian 3-bean chili with squash
  • Soft shell taco bar with choices of:  strip steak, tempeh, chicken strips, refried beans, taco-seasoned ground beef, shredded cheese, cabbage slaw, grape tomatoes, guacamole (I purchased this), lettuce, hearts of palm, dressings, bell pepper slivers, hot sauces, sour cream
  • Potato salad with celery, onion, dill, chili powder, possibly apple
  • Chocolate avocado cookies
  • Banana strawberry cake (okay, that’s not remotely Mexican… eh.)

This recipe is linked up at Fiesta Friday, where this week’s co-host is:  Antonia @ Zoale.com.

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Condiments, Cooking, South of the Border and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cinco de Mayo: Cilantro/Lime/Avocado Taco Dressing

  1. What a simple and delicious looking recipe. I must try it!

  2. Antonia says:

    This looks so yummy! I bet it is good as a veggie dip too. Thank you for sharing with us over at Fiesta Friday! Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Leave a comment