Pork Chops with Apple & Onion – Simple!

I love good pork chops, and I saw a video where Civilized Caveman made these, and since I didn’t write anything down, this is my own take on what he did.

Pork chop, Apple, Onion

So yum I ate both servings

Serves 2 (although in my case I kept eating until they were gone…)  You can cook this ahead of time for lunches to bring to work, which is what I’d planned to do with the second chop….

2 bone-in pork chops, about 1/2 inch thick.
1 apple, cored and sliced
1/2 medium onion, peeled and sliced
1/4-1/2 teaspoon ajwain (an Indian spice I picked up from Penzey’s — or have fun with your spice cabinet.  Nutmeg or coriander would be good.)
Salt and pepper to taste

Pre-heat your oven to 275 F.

Use an oven proof skillet (so you don’t have to dirty two pans, but if you don’t have, you will have to dirty two pans), heat it to medium high on your range (which nowadays people call the stovetop).

pork chop, apple, onion

Sear the chops on both sides until slightly browned, just a few minutes.

Remove from heat, and briefly remove the meat.

Layer in apple and onions slices, and return the meat on top of the apple and onion.

Season.

pork chop, onion, apple

Place in oven for about 20 minutes, the pork will cook through nicely  and the apples and onions will still have texture.  Let rest for about five minutes, then serve.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Meats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pork Chops with Apple & Onion – Simple!

  1. Pingback: 20 of the Best Paleo Pork Chops Recipes

  2. Pingback: 10 Quick and Easy Gluten Free Dinners

  3. You had me at “Pork Chops” 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Best Gluten Free Meal Plan | The Incredible Shrinking Me

  5. Sarah says:

    im not sure about the temperature. How does 275 cook the pork chops? Everything else sounds good!

  6. Pingback: Year’s End | Of Goats and Greens

Leave a comment