Year’s End

2015 was a good and promising year in the food exploration department.

This is the 50th post for the year — I’m not including any actual recipes today, but just a tying up of 2015, and some photos for meals I never got a chance to write-up (or simply didn’t take sufficient notes for, or are just not ready for prime time — such as the below).

Vietnamese Spring Roll: This is probably the only roll that rolled up decently. Expect a new (and publishable) effort in 2016!

Vietnamese Spring Roll: This is probably the only example that rolled up somewhat decently. Expect a new (and publishable) effort in 2016!

And some links to meals that were memorable this past year:

I discovered two new (to me) foods:

  • Callaloo (a Jamaican steamed green in the amaranth family)
  • Cucamelon (a small fruit related to the cucumber, which is great in salads)

I discovered a new cooking technique:

  • Using the rice cooker for things other than rice.  Namely, Quinoa.

I got adventurous in the Korean and the Tex-Mex cuisine arenas.

And, I tried my hand for the very first time on stuffed squid, which I simply LOVE!

Martha's Vineyard

Martha’s Vineyard

Other landmarks of the year:

  • February onwards:  at least two blog posts per month.
  • April:  broke ground on my future home in Massachusetts
  • June:  first ever trip to Martha’s Vineyard, staying nearly a week and enjoying some GREAT food and company.
  • July:  first great-nephew arrived into the world on Bastille Day (great way to remember the date, too!)  His name is Charl, he’s a red-head like his mother and my brother, and I hope to go to Florida this spring to meet him, finally.  Had hoped to do so over New Years, but read on…
  • July:  after 11 years and 183 thousand miles on my Subaru Forester, I traded it in for a used (pardon, “pre-owned”) Hyundai Santa Fe with 22,000 miles on it.
  • October:  fell and broke my tibia in the ankle region at the end of the month.  I’m still out on worker’s comp.
  • December:  Managed to join some friends nearby for a fantastic Christmas dinner that couldn’t be beat.
  • December:  Started working from home.  Yesterday.  However, this here is my break… (and besides the system there seems to be having difficulties)
2015 - Feast of the Seven FIshes, Dec. 24: Rhode Island clam chowder & Scallop sashimi with wasabi and tamari. (Didn't like the photo of the 3 other fishes: eel with teryaki sauce, smoked salmon, and squid stuffed with mushrooms and scallops, topped with mustard aioli)

2015 – Feast of the Seven Fishes, Minus Two, Dec. 24: Rhode Island clam chowder & Scallop thinly sliced sashimi with wasabi and tamari. (Didn’t like the photo of the 3 other fishes: eel with teriyaki sauce; smoked salmon & dill; and squid stuffed with mushrooms and scallops, topped with mustard aioli)

WordPress has sent me info on my year in review as far as WordPress is concerned.

My most popular posts:

Most popular posts I put up this year:

This blog has had visitors from 127 countries this year.  The Recipe Index and the Dining Out pages were started this year.  Only three Dining Out additions were blogged about this year, and no desserts.

Have a Great New Year, everyone!!!

I’ll be asleep before the ball drops.  Even if I weren’t on crutches, I’m far less likely to go out on New Year’s Eve these years than in my younger days.  Restaurants serve limited and overpriced selections, and the ambiance yells “CROWD”.  I used to go to parties held at homes, but there are few of those locally nowadays.  Not really missing that, even if they were fun back in the day.

2015 recipe wrap up

Last Breakfast, 2015: 2 fried eggs, button mushrooms, pair of lamb kidneys.

Last Lunch, 2015: Pasta, many mushrooms, onion, parsley, other seasonings. (Yes, this one contains gluten.)

Last Lunch, 2015: Pasta, many mushrooms, sour cream, onion, parsley, other seasonings. (Yes, this one contains gluten.  It is also the first time I home-cooked with wheat all year — someone gave me a gift basket with pasta as one ingredient in it.)

Last Dinner, 2015: 2 boneless skinless chicken thighs braised in mushroom broth, with one small gold potato and baby bok choy.

Last Dinner, 2015: 2 boneless skinless chicken thighs braised in mushroom broth, with one small gold potato and baby bok choy.  And seasonings.

Last Whine, 2015:  Wente – Louis Mel Sauvignon Blanc. 

We are having fun at the two-week long 100th link-exchange running of Fiesta Friday, over at Cooking with Aunt Juju

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Year’s End

  1. Ginger says:

    What an amazing round-up of foods, events and insight! Well done you and an amazing 2015 – wishing you all the best for 2016!
    Ginger

  2. Fun to keep track of what you have made, popular posts, things you have learned, and so on. Maybe I will do that this year… Thanks for sharing a little bit of you with Fiesta Friday. Happy New Year 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this with all of us at Fiesta Friday. Love looking back at what we made over the year. It all looks amazing, Happy New Year.

  4. Now this was a fun post, and I love how you’ve upped your game and shared it all, not just the perfect finished year end bests! Inspiring!

    Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday and have a very happy New Year! I’ll be pinning to our FF board just in case no one else has yet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

