Malted Mocha Milkshake

Contains: Dairy, gluten.  Is: Vegetarian, quick and easy.

If you leave out the “malt” portion of this, the treat is gluten-free.  

malted served

Making a malt means that one has taken a sprouted grain that was then quickly dried.  Barley is most frequently used.  For malt powder, this is ground down into that powder.   A malted milk powder consists of malt powder, wheat powder, and powdered milk.  

I worked with these two recipes, to create the best of a mocha milkshake with the malted vanilla one.:

I used whole (dairy) milk, but you can also experiment with others.  I might try oatmeal milk next time.   And obviously, any flavor of ice cream that goes with mocha is good.  

malted-ingredients

Prep Time:  5-10 minutes.
Cook Time:  It’s RAAAWW!
Rest Time: No. 
Serves: 1, possibly 2.  
Leftovers?:  Not amenable to that!

Malted Mocha Milkshake.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup cold milk
  • 1 cup coffee ice cream
  • 3 tablespoons malted milk powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cacao powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon real vanilla extract.  

Combine all ingredients in a large container.  Blend with an immersion blender, or use a food processor.  You can leave the ice cream a bit chunky (my preference) or blend until creamy.

Pour into a suitable tall glass. Serves one.    

malted, mocha, milkshake, ice cream, beverage


I really loved the malted milkshakes of my mis-spent youth.  That malted flavor is something I’ve always enjoyed (maybe not so often in beer, but hey).  

This recipe is shared with:  

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Malted Mocha Milkshake

  1. Sounds amazingly good!! Thanks for sharing at the What’s for Dinner party! Have an awesome week.

Leave a comment