Braised Korean Tofu (Vegan): Dubu Jorim

Contains:  Soy. legumes, nightshades.  Is: Vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free (if using tamari), quick and easy.

Korean, tofu, dubu jorim, vegan, vegetarian, recipe

The entire recipe. I only ate a few of these hot, reserved the rest for chilling. (That’s a pound of tofu there!)

This dish is not always vegetarian, but this rendition is, and I had all the ingredients (other than the tofu which I ran off to buy, easy enough).  :Dubu” is Korean for “tofu”.  Anyhow, I had meant to make this in February for my “Asian Month”, but here we go, anyway.

Korean, recipe, dubu jorim, tofu

Generally served as a banchan (side), you can also make this as a main protein dish, which is what I did today.

recipe, gluten-free, Korean, tofu, dubu jorim

Browning the tofu.

Gochugaru is the usual Korean red pepper used, but some days you have to go with what you can find!

Dubu Jorim (Braised tofu) Recipe – Korean Bapsang

recipe, gluten-free, tofu, Korean, dubu jorim

Prep Time:  10 minutes.   
Cook Time:  15 minutes.  
Rest Time: Serve immediately warm, or let chill in fridge until desired.  
Serves: If banchan, a lot of servings.  As a main, about 3-4. 
Cuisine:  Korean.
Leftovers:  Yes.

Korean Dubu Jorim

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 about 16-18-oz pack firm tofu
  • 1 tablespoon cooking oil
  • 3 tablespoons low sodium tamari for gluten-free; or soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Korean red pepper flakes, preferably Gochugaru
  • 1 teaspoon sesame seeds (I used 1/2 teaspoon white and 1/2 teaspoon toasted black).
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 2 scallions, finely chopped 

Cut tofu into 1/2 inch thick rectangular slices (about 1.25 cm thick).  Pat dry.

Mix the sauce together – everything EXCEPT the tofu and the cooking oil.

In a large skillet, preferably non-stick, heat the cooking oil until hot enough to sizzle with a drop of water.  Gently add the tofu in one layer (if you need to cook divided batches, do that).  Allow them to get lightly browned on both sides, about 3-4 minutes on medium or medium high heat per side..

While still in the skillet, spoon the sauce over the tofu / dubu, raised up individual pieces to let some sauce circulate under the pieces.  Simmer this at  a lower temperature (medium-low heat) for another 3-4 minutes.  Flip pieces, simmer another minute or so, scooping any sauce back over the tofu.

Serve, either immediately and warm, or chill and serve later, cold.  Traditionally, serve with rice, a main, and other banchan.   I chose to treat this as a main for the portion I served hot, and as banchan for what turned out to be two remaining portions.

Korean, recipe, dubu jorim, tofu, gluten-free

Linked at:

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Asian & Asian Influenced, Cooking, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Braised Korean Tofu (Vegan): Dubu Jorim

  1. Sometimes this is included in the banchan (side dishes) lineup when we eat at Korean BBQ restaurant. My daughter likes it. It’s so easy I don’t know why I haven’t made it for her. Thanks for the recipe, and thanks for cohosting! XO

    • You are welcome! This is a tofu dish I shall be making again – really enjoyed it! AND it really is quick and simple to make . Had I used my larger skillet I probably would not have had to cook in batches, either. Served cold it is also good – sometime I really mean to cook like the Koreans do and have my main and a bunch of banchan such as this to the side. (Less convenient when one is currently cooking for one…)

  2. Carolyn says:

    This is great, Diann! I got some tofu in the house with the intention of making Age Dofu, the Japanese version of this. That one uses fish sauce, which I have yet to buy, but I can easily try this one first!

Leave a comment