Toasted Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Peppers

Contains:  Nightshades, pseudo-grains.  Is:  Vegetarian, vegan, plant-derived, gluten-free.

quinoa, recipe, sweet potato, peppers

This was yummers as I recollect.

One of the several upcoming recipes I’m pulling off of Food.com (previously Recipezaar.com), where I was active before I discovered blogging was much easier than following a nailed-down format for posting recipes – which got irritating to say the least.  However, there was a forum then over there, and the vegetarians seemed the most interesting/active of the folk, so most of the things I posted there were vegetarian.  I’ve never been strictly vegetarian – but I do love the food!   This recipe dated June 2010.  Old stuff, so only one photo!

My handle back then and on there:  Diann is Cooking.  I don’t see that I’ve made any activity since 2012 at the site.

Note:  This was back in the day when I thought QUINOA was pronounced kin-o-a. I remember that work lunch day a two-three years later when table-mates were discussing some keen-wa.  I was like… what’s THAT???  Um… duh???

Prep & Cook Time:  Total, 50 minutes.
Rest Time:  None.
Serves:  2
Cuisine:  Unspecified.
Leftovers:  Certainly!

Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Peppers

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 large shallots, peeled and quarterd
  • Olive oil.
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon garam masala (or curry powder)  ADD MORE! Up to a teaspoon!
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water or veggie stock.  The boxed type (low sodium) is fine.
  • 1 jalapeño, de-seeded and finely diced
  • 1 bell pepper, de-seeded and roughly chopped.
  • salt and pepper to taste.  

In foil, lay out the potatoes and shallots, coating them with just a little bit of oil so they moisten properly. Sprinkle on the nutmeg, the ground pepper, and the curry or the garam masala. Roast for approximately 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, LIGHTLY toast the quinoa for no more than 4 minutes in a little of the oil in the saucepan you will use to cook it, on the stovetop. A moderate/low temp works best, and continually move the quinoa around to prevent burning.

Add the water/veggie stock (this may splash back) . Add the jalapeño.

When this comes to a boil, reduce to a simmer and cook for 12-15 minutes at a simmer. It is best to cover, but check to see if you need to add more water.

As far as the bell pepper goes: I add it 2 minutes before cooking is done, but if you prefer your pepper less au-dente, add it sooner, mix and re-cover.  (I am known for wanting my bell peppers far more au-dente than most folk.)

When done, if needed, drain the quinoa. Add in the roasted sweet potato/shallot mixture, and any salt and pepper – and serve hot.


 

Linking to:  Fiesta Friday, where this week your co-hosts this week are Petra @ Food Eat Love and Jhuls @ The Not So Creative Cook

Linking to:  What’s for Dinner? Sunday Link-Up, with Helen Fern.

Linking to:  Farm Fresh Tuesday’s Blog Hop.

 

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toasted Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Peppers

  1. Jhuls says:

    After eating loads of bad carbs, I need this for a change. This looks really beautiful and delicious. Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday party!

  2. petra08 says:

    I only discovered quinoa a few years ago and I absolutely love it. Your recipe sounds so fresh and perfectly light, my kind of food!
    I have never tried nutmeg with sweet potatoes, I will try that!
    A great recipe to bring to Fiesta Friday 🙂

  3. helenfern says:

    I’ve never been a big quinoa fan – until I learned I was cooking it wrong!! Now I’m hooked and this recipe looks fantastic. Thanks for sharing at the What’s for Dinner. Try to enjoy your week.

Leave a comment