Ras al Hanout Moroccan Seasoning

This weekend, I am making a Moroccan leg of lamb for a pot-luck gathering here, with a low and slow braise.  It’s a Mediterranean theme pot-luck. In advance, I’m making the Ras al Hanout seasoning I wish to use for it. I should be posting the lamb recipe NEXT week, if all goes well here.

ras al hanout, condiment, Moroccan

Makin’ Moroccan seasonings… It’s all in the spicing’s.

 

There are more complicated and perhaps even more accurate recipes than the one below… but I suspect different cooks in Morocco do what they do, and that there is No One Set Recipe Above All Others for ras al hanout.  Indeed, given more time than I have right now, I more than suspect many of the below ingredients are sourced as whole spices, then ground down.

I had considered using freshly-ground ginger, but the fact that these other spices are already dry means they will keep longer in the spice rack.  Actually, at the right temperature range, this should store, full-flavored, up to six months.

Moroccan, ras al hanout, rub, seasoning

Collected bits of spice wisdom. Will save old jars —  WILL RE-USE!

At any rate, I worked from this recipe.  I doubled  the ingredients, and added turmeric, which I noted in other recipes had been added in making this condiment.  Turmeric has so many health benefits, I cannot resist.

Prep Time: 10 minutes.
Cook Time:  None, just stir and mix.
Rest Time:  None.
Serves:  Depends.  It’s a condiment/rub.
Cuisine: Moroccan.
Leftovers:  Keep enclosed and out of sunlight, for up to six months.

Moroccan Ras al Hanout Seasoning

  • 2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, but I used Trader Joe’s Rainbow Peppercorns as a replacement.  Freshly ground…
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander seeds
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves  

Mix ’em all together in a bowl, and put in an appropriate storage container.  Anything you can grind up freshly, the better.

I do have (somewhere?) a few funnels intended for sifting things into smaller containers… couldn’t find on demand, so I used some torn parchment paper to make an ersatz funnel to direct my mixture above into an old re-purposed herb container.  It did work, but I would have preferred an actual funnel.  But… if you are curious or in need… this method IS an option.

PS: the scent is awesome…

This recipe is over at:  Fiesta Friday, with co-hosts Zeba @ Food For The Soul and Debanita @ Canvassed Recipes, and over at What’s for Dinner- Sunday Link Up.   And now, yes, at Full Plate Thursday!  Enjoy!  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Condiments, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ras al Hanout Moroccan Seasoning

  1. This looks like a great addition to my spice shelf – I can imagine roasted chickpeas would be amazing with this! 🙂 Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday.

  2. I love using this spice and it is so nice that you made it at home. Gotta try it…Thanks for sharing on Fiesta Friday!

  3. helenfern says:

    Pinned this one. I’ll use it for sure! Thanks for sharing at the What’s for Dinner party!

  4. Laura says:

    I just love to make spice blends from scratch – and this one is lovely. Have you tried making curry powder?

    • I have done curry powders, and I hope to make a few more in the near future with the intention of posting them here. I agree, loving to make spice blends from scratch! I plan to use this one in a vegetarian idea or two in the near future (eggplant as the main item to be seasoned).

  5. Need to try this spice recipe at home. Lovely share! Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday!

  6. Pingback: Moroccan Mechoui (Slow Roasted Bone-In Lamb Leg) | Of Goats and Greens

  7. Pingback: Vegetarian Eggplant, Apple and Onion Casserole with Ras al Hanout | Of Goats and Greens

  8. Miz Helen says:

    I love homemade spice mix and am so happy to have this awesome recipe! Thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and have a great week!
    Miz Helen

  9. Pingback: Lamb Kidney Puff Pastries | Of Goats and Greens

  10. Pingback: Father’s Day: Stuffed Pepper, Featuring Apple & Onion (Vegan) | Of Goats and Greens

  11. Pingback: Father’s Day: Stuffed Lamb Heart, Featuring Apple & Onion (Omnivorian) | Of Goats and Greens

  12. Pingback: Paleo Stuffed Peppers: Shrimp, Cabbage, Onion, Fennel, Apple, Tomato & Ras al Hanout | Of Goats and Greens

  13. Pingback: Savory Quail Tagine | Of Goats and Greens

Leave a comment