April 1st: Mashed Sweet Green Peas with Shiitake

This is actually created in memory of the time when I was a child.  I looked at the platter of loathed green peas, and, using the logic of the Laws of Similarity, decided that mashing my peas might improve the gustatory experience, in the same way that mashed potatoes were far superior to the boiled or baked varieties.   BUT:

green peas, recipe, shiitake, mashed peas, vegetarian

Green peas, shiitake, onion. Yes, they do work mashed, or at the very least:  smashed.

“DON’T PLAY WITH YOUR FOOD!!!  EAT IT!!!”

“But I wanna make it taste better!”

“YOU’RE JUST PLAYING!!!”

The parents won, and I didn’t attempt mashing my peas again until I was off at college.

Note:  They DID taste better mashed!

green peas, recipe, shiitake, mashed peas, vegetarian

From the freezer section…

Later on, I discovered the very best peas:  fresh, whole, from one’s own garden!!!  No mashing necessary nor desired.   A lot of them didn’t even get into the house.

Since my garden (at my future home) still has snow on it, instead of anything edible, and since today is April Fools’ Day, I figured I’d see if I could create a mashed pea dish, and improve on simply mashing them.  Granted, it occurred to me much later in life, this is what Split Pea Soup does so well… but here goes today’s experiment in mashing frozen (NOT canned!) peas for a tasty pleasure.

green peas, recipe, shiitake, mashed peas, vegetarian

Mise in Place

Prep Time:  10 minutes.
Cook Time: 5 minutes for the peas in water, 20 minutes for everything else.
Rest Time:  Not required.
Serves:  Two.
Re-heats nicely in microwave.  Or, if covered, in the oven.

Mashed Sweet Peas with Shiitake

  • 1 10-ounce pack of frozen sweet green peas.  
  • 1 tablespoon (you might need more) of either butter, ghee, avocado oil, olive oil, or grapeseed oil)
  • 1/4 red onion, diced.  (more is fine, too.  It’s what I had.)
  • 3-4 ounces shiitake mushrooms.  De-stem and slice thin.  
  • 2 green onions/scallions, chopped.
  • 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon dried sage
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon (or so) salt

Prepare the peas according to the directions on the package (mine said to put in pot, just cover with water, bring to boil, reduce heat to a simmer and cover, and simmer 5-7 minutes.  I stopped at about 5 minutes since they’d be cooked further.

Drain peas and mash.  I used a potato masher, you can also use a blender if you want them smoother.  I was happy with chunky.  (I like my mashed potatoes with some chunk, too…)

In a skillet large enough for everything, put your cooking oil/fat.  (I used butter, organic pastured Kate’s of Maine.  If you don’t do dairy, pick a healthy cooking oil.)  Let melt and get hot at medium heat.

Add onions, stir.  Allow to get translucent.  A little browning is fine, too.  About 8-10 minutes.

Add the mushrooms, stir. Cook another 5-8 minutes, until the mushrooms are done.  You may need more cooking oil/fat here, let your mushrooms be your guide.

Add the mashed peas and the scallions.  Add the seasonings, and stir further, another five minutes.  Everything should be hot all the way through.

Serve!  (PS, one option that I did for the second serving… sprinkle Parmesan cheese over the top!)

As for serving options… the above serving WAS my lunch, nothing else.  For dinner, though, I’d probably prefer this as a side.  Sometimes it’s worth learning from playing with your food!

This recipe has decided to go have fun over at Fiesta Friday, and it is partying down with co-host Monika, as well.

 

 

 

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in April Fool, Cooking, Mushrooms, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to April 1st: Mashed Sweet Green Peas with Shiitake

  1. Mushrooms and peas are definitely a hit with my daughter. I shall have to give this a go in our meal plan 😀

  2. Monika says:

    This sounds delicious! Love sweet green peas as well as shiitake, though I don’t use shiitake in my cooking too often – now I’ve got a recipe for them:)

Leave a comment