Dining Out: El Comalito, Amherst, MA

El Comalito (Mexican & Salvadorian), 460 West Street, Amherst MA

The next two or three posts I’m making are dining out experiences.  I’m pretty busy packing and sorting my home in preparation for a move to be very kitchen-creative.  This dining out excursion happened because I’d just finished visiting a wood burning furnace outlet, and was on my way to visiting my future home to see how things were doing there, and to drop off a load of books and other stuff.

El Comalito, Restaurant, Amherst, dining out, Mexican food

Taco spread.

Photos by phone – real cameras are way too intrusive at restaurants.

And I don’t stop for Mickey Dee’s… or Bugger King.   Panera’s, yes, but that was too far out of my way.  Google being my friend, I found this place!

I ordered the avocado salad with balsamic vinaigrette, which they served on the side.  This would have been a meal in itself!  I took half of it home (minus the avocados, which just won’t keep – I ate all of them then and there).  The tomatoes of course are hot-house, which is just as well, since I should limit nightshade consumption.

El Comalito, Restaurant, Amherst, dining out, Mexican food

Lots of avocados!

For the main:  three gluten-free Puerco/Pulled Pork soft tacos.  This was a LARGE platter, and came with a green salsa.   I also got a small bit of pico de gallo.  Yep, nightshades, but these were tasty.  I included the refried beans and the rice – you had to get the rice WITH the beans or the beans alone would have, for some inexplicable reason, cost more.

These were very good, the pork tender yet a bit crispy in the right way; and the rice was done well, not soggy.   The green salsa was outstanding.

If I head back, I want to try the Salvadorean pupusas – I’ve never had them.  Unfortunately, they require 20 minutes of additional wait time, and I was On the Road, and had destinations to meet.

Service was a tad slow, but not uncomfortably so.  There are plenty of gluten-free and a few vegetarian options.

El Comalito, Restaurant, Amherst, dining out, Mexican food

Zoom in on them tacos!

Rating:  3.75 out of 5 stars.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dining Out: El Comalito, Amherst, MA

Leave a Reply

