Spiced Coffee Liqueur

Contains:  Alcohol, added sugar.  Is:  An adult beverage, vegan, vegetarian. 

I prefer to use a white (clear) rum over a caramel-colored one.  Your mileage may vary.      

coffee, liqueur, beverage, rum, alcohol

Some Ingredients awaiting the venture into rum.

Goal here is NOT to turn this into a pumpkin or apple spice – hence, I left out cinnamon and nutmeg.

I suppose one can use a previously-spiced commercial rum here, but I’ve yet to find one whose tastes I can remotely tolerate.

Spiced Coffee Liqueur

  • 2 cups / 240 mL rum.
  •  9-10 cloves of clove.  
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom.
  • 2 tablespoons coarsely ground coffee.  
  •  1/2 of the zest of an orange.  
  • 1:1 water + sugar. (I used a granulated light brown coconut sugar, but use as you choose)

Special equipment:  Muslin or several layers of cheesecloth.  I am informed I can buy plain muslin at a fabric store such as Joann’s.  In a real pinch, a few layers of undyed paper towel will work.  But you can re-use the muslin or cheesecloth.

Combine everything from the rum to the zest in a easy-to-tightly close jar.   Tightly close it, and shake ever so often for the next five (or so) days.

Decant at that point through a fine sieve and through the muslin/cheesecloth, into a suitable bowl or measuring cup, preferably with a spout.

Make a simple syrup using 1 part water and one part granulated sugar (v/v).  You can also do this by weight/weight which will yield similar enough results.  If you prefer a sweeter liquor than I do, you can go up to 1 part water to 2 parts sugar, but do test this before you make it quite that sweet.  You can make excess simple syrup to keep on hand for future projects – it will store well.

Mix the strained stock liqueur one to one (v/v) with the simple syrup.

To serve:

  •  Option 1:  Add a small amount (an ounce or less) to an aperitif glass.
  •  Option 2:  Pour a shot (an ounce) over ice, add unflavored seltzer water to taste and desired “kick”.

This beverage is 40 proof if made according to directions (20% alcohol) – as described for Option 1.   I seriously do NOT recommend using 141 (proof) rum!!!!  Shuddering at that over-inebriated thought!

This post shared with the following link parties and blog hops:

Fiesta Friday.   Co-hosted by  Petra @ Food Eat Love and by myself.

Full Plate Thursday.

What’s for Dinner:  Sunday Link Up.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spiced Coffee Liqueur

  1. petra08 says:

    This sounds delicious! I would love to sip this after dinner in front of a fire 🙂 Or perhaps some poured over icecream!

  2. I’m pinning this one for the future. It sound deliciously decadent. Unfortunately I am on the no alcohol diet for January…but there is alway February! Be well and thank you for cohosting FF.

  3. Jhuls says:

    I am not consuming anything with alcohol, but it sounds good. Thank you for co-hosting Fiesta Friday!

  4. I absolutely love this idea for a spiced coffee liqueur – I love mulled wine and pumpkin spice baileys so this I KNOW I’m going to love, pinning this for later xx

  5. I’m interested in this. I think Petra’s idea is spot on! Thanks for cohosting XOXO

  6. helenfern says:

    Mmmm – This sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing at the What’s for Dinner party! Have a fantastic week!

Leave a comment