Savory Vegetarian Korean Pancakes

Contains:  Gluten, added sugar, egg,  nightshade.  Is:  Vegetarian.

recipe, Korean, pancake, savory, vegetarian

Very yummers!

In extra non-food-related news, I closed out and sold my old house yesterday.  YAY TEAM!  I received more than the initial asking price on advice of my realtor, but it meant the last few days were more hectic than I like dealing with.  A lot of hanging on phones waiting to talk to humans about either cancelling services or transferring the electric to the incomers.  It’s gone, the last time I will see a home I lived in for 28 years (although not often these past nearly two).

recipe, Korean, pancake, savory, vegetarian, breakfast

True, I don’t care for carrots. I added them for the photography, a little color. Next time I’ll do bell pepper, but this time I followed the recipe…

I am eating largely vegetarian this month.  I originally thought, with the exception of one day (a local country fair where I go to volunteer), I could make this an entirely vegetarian month, but I have other logistics to consider – so I’m planning on doing this most meals each week.  And anything I publish as a recipe this month WILL be vegetarian or vegan.  Everything, except one planned beverage, will be on the savory side of things.

recipe, Korean, pancake, savory, vegetarian, breakfast

Pancaking…

We’ll start off with breakfast.  (My favorite meal?)

Source inspiration recipe for this one:  Eat Smarter’s Savory Korean Pancakes.  The author includes shrimp/prawns, but I’ve omitted them for this month.  (Although they do look darn good…)  It does include a small amount of sugar  I suppose one could sub in tiny cubes of tempeh for the shrimp, but I did not see the need nor have the desire today.

recipe, Korean, pancake, savory, vegetarian, breakfast

Nope, I didn’t flip this well. That large portion at the bottom is the one serving…

Prep Time: 15 minutes.
Cook Time:  12-15 minutes.
Rest Time:  None.
Serves:  2 (with one large pancake)
Cuisine:  Korean 
Leftovers:  Uncertain regards the pancake.  Dipping sauce can be refrigerated.

Savory Korean Pancakes

 

  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 4 tablespoons low-sodium tamari
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 3 ounces / 85 grams pastry flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 scallions / green onions
  • 1 small carrot about 1.5 oz / 42 grams
  • 1 baby bok choy about 2 oz / 60 grams
  • 2 tablespoons avocado oil

Dipping Sauce: 

Crush sesame sees with the pepper flakes in a mortar. Keep coarse, don’t grind.

Mix this in a small bowl with 3 tablespoons of that tamari, the maple syrup, and one tablespoon water. Let remain at room temp while you carry on.

Pancake:

Separately, mix flour and 125 mL / ½ cup water. Add the salt, and stir until everything is just combined. Don’t over mix.

Beat the egg and stir into the flour mix. Allow to rest for ten minutes.

While that’s resting prep the scallions: cut in half lengthwise, and into approximately 3 cm / 1 inch segments. Cut the peeled carrot into thin julienned strips.

Take the bok choy and cut that into thin strips as well.

In your skillet, heat up the oil to a medium high heat, and cook the veggies until light brown – you will need to stir frequently. This will take three or four minutes.

Deglaze this with the rest of the tamari, and try to spread the veggies around the skillet as well as possible.

Pour the batter over the veggies, and allow to cook until lightly brown on bottom, around five minutes.  This batter will not provide indicative bubbles as with many other pancakes.

Flip the pancake over (this is more easily said than done – a really large spatula would help) and allow to cook another two or three minutes.

Serve, using the dipping sauce for either dipping, or spooning a bit out and over your own share of the pancake.

 

recipe, Korean, pancake, savory, vegetarian, breakfast

Sharing with Fiesta Friday, co-hosted by Ai.

Sharing with What’s For Dinner, Sunday Link-Up.

 

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Asian & Asian Influenced, Breakfast, Cooking, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Savory Vegetarian Korean Pancakes

  1. I love eating these! I had some today for lunch and I expect I’ll be eating alot of them over the course of Korean thanksgiving (chuseok) next weekend 😁

  2. Ai | Ai made it for you says:

    YUM! Korean pancakes have been a favorite snack of mine since I was little! I’ll usually make a seafood version for dinner once in a while. Your vegetarian version looks delicious! Thanks for sharing at this week’s fiesta!

Leave a comment