Lamb and Winter Squash in Yogurt Marinate

Seasonal, lamb, squash, yogurt, Mediterranean, recipe

Marinated lamb, squash

Out in the world of nature, here in the Northern Hemisphere, it is the beginning of the season for lambing and kidding – something I may be doing in future years once I get goats and Shetland sheep established here.  (However, being in western Massachusetts, I want to have them lambing and kidding around just a tad later on in the season…).  If one wants to make dairy products, this is the time to start thinking about it, too.  (Personally, I don’t — the idea of milking day in and day out and day in again crosses over my busy-ness tolerance threshold to unacceptable…   I KNOW this about myself!  There are just too many other things living is for!)

Happy Groundhog Day! (He won’t see his shadow in these here parts!)

I used two lamb chops, one per serving, but one should multiply towards family members or guests as needed.

The inspiration for this dish is the season, so I am making use of both lamb and dairy (yogurt) for the anticipation of spring, as well as the last of the crop of squash, stored from last autumn.  If you don’t have delicata (it actually doesn’t overwinter quite as well as, say, acorn) use another winter squash variety, although spaghetti squash would probably make this an entirely different meal.

Lamb, squash, Delicata, recipe

I’m considering this recipe to have a bit of Mediterranean feel to it.  Since it includes that dairy, it is Primal rather than Paleo.  But it is a good healthy celebratory meal.

Lamb, recipe, marinate, yogurt, squash, Mediterranean

Prepping!

Prep Time: 15-20 minutes
Marinate Time: 6 hours to overnight
Cook Time: 12 minutes
Rest Time: 5 minutes.
Serves: 2 as written.

Lamb Chops and Squash in Yogurt

  • 1 lamb chop per person.  As written use 2 chops.  (Shoulder is good, those pricey loin chops have too little meat on them, and should be treated differently when cooked anyway).  For marinating purposes, you can cut them in half.   Alternatively, lamb steak cut into several pieces will also work, about 4-5 ounces in total per person, about 10 ounces for two.  Cut out excess fat, but you can leave a little on.
  • 1/2 cup yogurt.  I buy either goat yogurt or Stonyfield yogurt, either whole milk or low fat (NOT fat-free).  I’m not crazy about Greek yogurt; your mileage may differ.
  • 1/4 large lemon,the juice.
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 – 3/4 teaspoon smoked paprika 
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon tarragon
  • 1/4 teaspoon savory
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste.
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced.
  • 1 small delicata squash, ends removed and de-seeded. Chop into rings, cut further in half.
  • Fresh dill as garnish.  More ground nutmeg as garnish for the squash.

Take everything except the meat, squash, and garnishes and mix with a spoon into a marinate.  Coat the meat with the marinate — I find using my hands efficient, but you can continue with the spoon.

Marinate in the fridge for 6 hours or overnight.

Set the oven on broil.  Chop and de-seed the squash.  Add water to a small pan sufficient to cover the squash.  Bring water to a boil.  Lay the meat and marinate in a pan, one layer of lamb.

Broil the lamb and simmer the squash for 12 minutes simultaneously.

Plate (serves two), garnish as desired.

Recipe, lamb, yogurt, squash, Mediterranean

Happily marinating

Have a happy Groundhog Day, and let’s hope we all get it right the first time…  (strains of “I Got You, Babe”, in the air…)

This blog post is being shared at Fiesta Friday.  Co-hosts are Monika @ Everyday Healthy Recipes and Laurena @ Life Diet Health

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: I've now moved to my new home in rural western Massachusetts. I am raising chickens (for meat and for eggs) and planning for guinea fowl, Shetland sheep, and probably goats and/or alpaca. Possibly feeder pigs. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Meats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lamb and Winter Squash in Yogurt Marinate

  1. Love the idea of using goat yogurt in the marinade and nutmeg (an underused spice in my cabinet but I love it). Delicious.

  2. Monika says:

    I just love the herbs and spices you’ve used, this must be delicious! Thank you for sharing with FF:)

  3. Lovely and would have been at the top of my to cook list before I gave up meat – you just can’t beat marinated lamb…..

Leave a comment