Dining Out: IKEA, New Haven, CT

Yes, I know, Ikea has meatballs and a bunch of other food items in their cafeteria.  I’m very very picky about meatballs, and I’d say none of the other menu reached out and grabbed me, either, but I will say one item did appeal to me.

This one:  Smoked salmon salad.  Or, as they call it, Lax Gravad… a Scandanavian smoked salmon with dill and similar herbs, served near a bed of greens, with a mustard-based sauce.

ikea, smoked salmon, salad, dining out, new haven

The salmon was WONDERFUL.  The greens varied from plate to plate here in New Haven – some plates held a lot of greens, some had just a few.  Fortunately, I could pick the plate I wanted.  I do like my greens!

The mustard sauce was overall good and flavorful, but sweeter than I’d care for, so I just used a touch here and there.  Your tastes will probably vary, as I have happily entrained myself out of most sweet foods.

Ikea does sell a couple of varieties of smoked salmon in their shop, including this one.   The price is reasonable.   Take it home, and make your own home-based smoked salmon salad platter, and add in capers and slices of fresh lemon!  Maybe a sliver of shallot or green onion, or two??  (They also sell the sauce, but as noted, that was too sweet for me.)

Food prices at this venue are reasonable – I am guessing they want you to buy stuff for your home, and are willing to take a bit of a loss.  Just to encourage you.  (I did find things I’m interested in purchasing, but not simply immediately.  Soon, however…)

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Dining Out, Salads, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

