Okra, Mushroom, Tomato, Onion, Kashmiri Masala

The inspiration for this dish was Indian — but having come home from surgery earlier that day, I didn’t have the stamina to go whole-barrel on this one.  In fact, I’d prepped the okra the day before.  Kashmiri paste /masala more often goes with mutton or goat, but as noted, I’d just gotten out of surgery and wasn’t in the mood to finagle the finer points.  It tasted quite good and is worth a repeat, anyways.

recipe, Basmati rice, Kashmiri masala, okra, vegetarian, tomato, mushroom, onion

An Indian-inspired dish over Basmati rice

I get great fresh okra from either the farmer’s market, or from an Asian (Indochinese) grocery near me.  The stuff in my supermarket always looks like it has been sitting around in a dungeon for several unhappy weeks.  In a pinch, frozen will do.  (Thaw it first.)

Prep time: 15-20 minutes
Cook time: 15-20 minutes
Rest time: none
Serves:  three servings; makes great leftovers.

Okra, Mushroom, Tomato, Onion, Kashmiri Masala

  • 1/2 pound okra. 
  • 1/2 large onion — I’d do the whole onion next time
  • 4 ounces sliced button mushrooms.
  • 2 teaspoons garlic paste
  • 1 teaspoon Kashmiri Masala paste (add more for more heat if you choose).
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • grapeseed or other cooking oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Remove stems from the okra.  Remove bottom tips if they are brown, otherwise let them remain.  Chop the okra into one inch length segments or less.

Coarsely dice the onion and slice the mushrooms.

Put a good cooking oil into a skillet — probably a tablespoon since mushrooms absorb it readily.  Turn heat to medium/medium high.

When the pan sizzles upon the addition of a drop of water, add the onion.

Let it saute for about 3-5 minutes, until just translucent.

Add okra, mushrooms and garlic paste.  Stir fry for another 5-10 minutes, until the okra is soft, and the mushrooms are cooked.

Toss in all the other ingredients, and continue stirring until the tomato is hot and begins to break apart.

Serve over a bed of hot Basmati rice.

This recipe has hooked up with the Link Parties at:
Real Food Fridays, and also
Fiesta Friday, with special hosts Su and Laura
and Saucy Saturdays (hosted by Swayam, Christine, Jennifer & Dini)

recipe, vegetarian, okra, tomato, onion, mushroom, kashmiri masala

Cooking away in the skillet

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Asian & Asian Influenced, Cooking, Mushrooms, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Okra, Mushroom, Tomato, Onion, Kashmiri Masala

  1. I like using grape seed oil. This s one of my favorite recipes and fragrant basmati rice is so good! YUM YUM!!!

  2. alifemoment says:

    Delicious recipe! 🙂

  3. Okra is one of my favourite vegetables to use in Indian cooking – although I always worry that it goes soggy when cooked in a curry. Any tips?

  4. Suchitra says:

    Looks and sounds delicious!! I make okra similarly but with only onions, tomatoes, coriander powder and red Chilli powder. Thanks for sharing it here at Fiesta Friday!

  5. Marla says:

    Sounds so healthy and hearty. Thanks for sharing on Real Food Fridays. PInned!

  6. michelleoblogoff says:

    This looks tasty! I often find Indian or Indian inspired dishes that require a months salary of spices that I’d need to buy! I can handle this one! Thanks for taming it down! I hope you’re feeling better from the surgery!
    Michelle

    • Definitely feeling more myself in the knee department! But now if we could do something about all the heat outside!!! I’m glad you like the lessening of the number of spices in this recipe.

  7. cakespy says:

    OMG, this looks totally delicious! Okra and mushrooms are two of my favorites, but do you believe I don’t think I have ever cooked them together!?!

    • I’ve got another batch of okra here… I’m going to have to plan something different for it… hmm, there’s shiitake mushrooms here, too… Dunno what’s coming next… I do have to say mushrooms and okra are both in my top list of foods, too. Anyhow, glad you enjoy!

  8. Awesome! I love okra and what a great way to cook it!

Leave a Reply

