Food For Thought: Take Three. And Some Blog Recipes I’m Considering

Recipes I plan to try:  (this is partially a reminder for myself)

(Just a quick pass through of recipes bookmarked this morning to make at some near point in the future…) Most of these turn out to be vegetarian. 

Zucchini Fritters – Another use for those summer squash things that are proliferating right now.  I may try amaranth flour, since I generally cook gluten-free at home.

Savory Pumpkin Hummus – Anything goes in hummus!  And, it’s Pumpkin Season!

Aani Basar – a Sindhi chickpea recipe.

Korean Perilla Cabbage Pickle – Perilla is a leaf in the mint family; it doesn’t taste quite like mint, but I like it in Japanese cuisine.

Taro Soup –  (While this Korean dish is made with beef, I can see someone subbing in mushrooms instead.)

Reykjavik Salmon Salad – A nice brunch idea.

Kadai Tofu Bindiokra – Some good-looking tofu with lots of great okra in a flavorful-looking Indian dish.

 

Artisan Water: 

Here we watch as the multiverse (or at least, the Internet) tackles artisan water!  Didn’t know there was such a thing?  Well, click away, and watch this very informative video about artisanal water here and around.  At any rate, I love my own personal artisan tap water!  A little heavy in calcium, but it could be worse.  There’s NO chlorine!  (Do watch — it pokes holes in a lot of pretentiousness.)

Click the link under the photo.

Eau de Connecticut, served in a pristine local winery glass, allowed to aerate just long enough. Swirl, and sip gently.

Eau de Connecticut, served in a pristine local winery glass, allowed to aerate just long enough. Swirl, and sip gently.  The G&G imprimateur is your true sign of quality waters.

http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2015/08/05/429031666/bespoke-water-video-pokes-fun-at-earnest-artisanal-food-makers

A Gene for Sweet?:

And then, what about the “Gene for Sweet” — I’ve been pretty aware we don’t all taste sweet the same way — I have little interest in that flavor except periodically when it works with a dish – and it DOES work with some!  Sweet is also great with tart when found together in good fresh fruit!  I also can tell instantly if the sweetener is artificial, or stevia — because none of those really provide the proper taste of “sweet” to my tongue — the  artificial ones have that horrid aftertaste and stevia, frankly, doesn’t taste remotely like sugar or anything I’d want to consume.  (I’ve wondered if this is like cilantro tasting like soap to some folks…)  I do know that stevia is healthier than most other sweeteners, but eating something that tastes like I’d imagine old gym socks to taste isn’t going to get me anywhere.  Better or best bet (for me):  limit the regular sweeteners.  (I do a little maple syrup, a little honey, a little orangutan-free minimally processed palm sugar.)  And MUCH less than most recipes call for.

Local Connecticut honey, Amazing sugar that after over 1 year of ownership, has NOT clumped up, Maple syrup harvested by my general contractors son in MA, using old style methods.

Local Connecticut honey, Amazing sugar that after over 1 year of ownership, has NOT clumped up, Maple syrup harvested by my general contractor’s son in MA, using old style methods.

http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2015/07/24/425609156/the-gene-for-sweet-why-we-dont-all-taste-sugar-the-same-way

Oh this really sounds like Fun Art!

And I do appreciate the Japanese art style and aesthetic.   If I try this, I will use edible colorings.   I might play with my food, but I’ll eat it after.  Oh, not those “food-grade” colorings my Mom gave me when I first went out on my own (30 years on, I still have those:  they’re great for making props for mad scientists at Halloween, or for odd photo-shoots…)

 Recipes I plan to try: (this is partially a reminder for myself) (Just a quick pass through of recipes bookmarked this morning to make at some near point in the future…) Most of these turn out to be vegetarian. Zucchini Fritters - Another use for those summer squash things that are proliferating right now. Savory Pumpkin Hummus - Anything goes in hummus! And, it's Pumpkin Season! Aani Basar - a Sindhi chickpea recipe. Korean Perilla Cabbage Pickle - Perilla is a leaf in the mint family; it doesn’t taste quite like mint, but I like it in Japanese cuisine. Taro Soup - (While this Korean dish is made with beef, I can see someone subbing in mushrooms instead.) Reykjavik Salmon Salad - A nice brunch idea. Kadai Tofu Bindiokra - Some good looking tofu with lots of great okra in a flavorful-looking Indian dish. Artisan Water: Here we watch as the multiverse (or at least, the Internet) tackles artisan water! Didn't know there was such a thing? Well, click away, and watch this very informative video about artisanal water here and around. At any rate, I love my own personal artisan tap water! A little heavy in calcium, but it could be worse. There's NO chlorine! (Do watch -- it pokes holes in a lot of pretentiousness.) http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2015/08/05/429031666/bespoke-water-video-pokes-fun-at-earnest-artisanal-food-makers A Gene for Sweet?: And then, what about the "Gene for Sweet" -- I've been pretty aware we don't all taste sweet the same way -- I have little interest in that flavor except periodically when it works with a dish - and it DOES work with some! Sweet is also great with tart when found together in good fresh fruit! I also can tell instantly if the sweetener is artificial, or stevia -- because none of those really provide the proper taste of "sweet" to my tongue -- the artificial ones have that horrid aftertaste and stevia, frankly, doesn't taste remotely like sugar or anything I'd want to consume. (I've wondered if this is like cilantro tasting like soap to some folks...) I do know that stevia is healthier than most other sweeteners, but eating something that tastes like I'd imagine old gym socks to taste isn't going to get me anywhere. Better or best bet (for me): limit the regular sweeteners. (I do a little maple syrup, a little honey, a little orangutan-free minimally-processed cane sugar.) And MUCH less than most recipes call for. http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2015/07/24/425609156/the-gene-for-sweet-why-we-dont-all-taste-sugar-the-same-way Oh this really sounds like Fun Art! And I do appreciate the Japanese art style and aesthetic. If I try this, I will use edible colorings. Oh, not those food-grade colorings my Mom gave me when I first went out on my own (I still have those: they're great for making props for mad scientists at Halloween...) http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2015/08/30/435248291/how-fishermen-s-bragging-rights-gave-birth-to-fine-art Posing with natural food dyes (beets & turmeric), the octopus and the sardine are showing potential for a future debut.

Posing with natural food dyes (beets & turmeric), the octopus and the sardine are showing potential for a future debut.

http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2015/08/30/435248291/how-fishermen-s-bragging-rights-gave-birth-to-fine-art

Okay, I’m linked up to:  Real Food Friday and Fiesta Friday.

 

 

 

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food For Thought: Take Three. And Some Blog Recipes I’m Considering

  1. JinJoo says:

    So happy to have my Perilla Cabbage pickle included in your list of things to cook!! I totally agree with you on artificial sweeteners…I would rather eat less of the real stuff then eat the other stuff. The pickle is a bit on the sweet side so please feel free to reduce the sugar amount and prob. salt as well. But with less salt and sugar, it will not preserve as well..but look forward to hearing how you change it!!

  2. petra08 says:

    That is a great sounding recipe collection to cook. I have so many sometimes I don’t quite know where to start to be honest! I can’t wait to see them on the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

