Foodie News: Food for Thought, Take Two

Foodie News is a once-a-month (ofttimes much less if there’s nothing out there that strikes my fancy to point us at or talk about) feature here.  It won’t show up more often than that.   In this case there are a few things I found a few months ago, but never got around to assembling.

 

By the way, I’m seriously enjoying Spring, and I hope my readers in the Northern Hemisphere are, too!  The last bit of snow departed here about a week ago, and I was glad to see it vamooose!  At any rate, some gleanings out there in the world of food…

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/artificial-sweeteners-may-change-our-gut-bacteria-in-dangerous-ways/  In some people, do artificial sweeteners pump up the odds for obesity, diabetes, and other factors of “metabolic syndrome”?

Some sugar, rarely eaten here.

Some sugar, rarely eaten here.

I’ve never been a fan of fake sugars – none of them ever tasted good to me.  I’ve gone the route of entraining myself to prefer things without sugar (or less sugar), rather than entraining myself to accept a taste that I did/do not like.   This is an interesting, well-written article from Scientific American, explaining how some but not all people concerned about weight loss are not really losing significant amounts of weight when they rely on artificial sweeteners.  Our gut bacteria change in response to what we are eating.  What this all means is still under investigation, but the article mentions some intriguing insights.

(This is about artificial manufactured sweeteners, and doesn’t cover all of them, and makes no mention of stevia — this last, unlike the others, may indeed be super beneficial for people with diabetes, even if to me it still tastes like old gym socks.)  Anyhow, a read worth thinking about.  If you aren’t losing despite switching sugars to the artificial ones, it might be worth testing this in your own food plan.

At any rate, personally I didn’t drop 40 pounds by switching to artificial sweeteners.  (Or to “low-fat” products, either.)  Except for the stuff that climbed back on last fall (my father passed away), the rest has stayed OFF.

http://thenextweb.com/gadgets/2015/04/15/robo-chef-is-trained-by-the-best-and-wants-to-cook-you-dinner/   Is a robo-chef in your future life?

Will he be your next robo-chef?

Will HE be your next robo-chef?

Personally, I love — seriously LOVE — cooking, but I can see this as being useful (eventually down the road, see below) for people with muscular dystrophy, advanced arthritis, or other ailments — people who don’t want to rely on the bland choices carted in from a service that has to cook for as many neutral, often SAD-oriented, tastes as possible.  If it takes off, it will take off first among the wealthy who have to have every gadget.

This gizmo still doesn’t slice and dice your ingredients yet, however.  It seems you have to to provide the mis en place.  This is the least appealing part of cooking, frankly — I want to get the ingredients together, and then COOK!  That version may be down the road later — so I’m hopeful for those folks with certain physical disabilities these might likely be added in gradually.  I’m assuming.

I understand you can have this robo-chef learn your own favorite recipes, handed down from whomever.

Early adapter price tag will be around $15,000 — the goal is to make the gadget a bit smaller and perhaps a bit more adept with kitchen prepping culinary skills.  Although I think some of the initial purchasers, if this comes to market, are going to be those folks who have to be able to show they have EveryThing.  It would be amusing to watch once or twice.

No, I personally never want to need to want one.

NOW FOR SOME OLDER LINKS:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2014/12/09/how-the-color-of-your-coffee-mug-can-change-the-way-your-coffee-tastes/  Apparently, the color of your coffee mug may affect how your cuppa-java tastes.

Amazing mug that changes from black to a pattern when you add hot liquid...Will this mean coffee tastes change along-side?

Amazing mug that changes from black to a pattern when you add hot liquid…Will this mean coffee tastes change along-side?

I haven’t really noticed a difference, but then when I drink my morning coffee, I’m not really focused on my coffee mug (other than to note it was cleaned out by some means or another prior to use).  I am thinking about all the things I have to do that day, or will I fully wake up soon.  Maybe this is true if you are just sitting around in some lab focusing on your coffee, but maybe this doesn’t quite apply to most day-to-day situations?

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2014/11/24/366300894/for-the-next-food-drive-go-for-the-canned-tuna-not-the-saltines  Food Drive nutritional ideas – as in decrease donating high glycemic filler.

Some foods that would work in a nutritious food drive.

Some foods that would work in a nutritious food drive.

I’ve been doing this for YEARS.  I figure the people benefiting from food drives need nutrient-dense foods, not a pile of rice and crackers.  Yes, it costs a little bit more, but I’m DONATING because I want the recipients to eat healthy nutritious foods.  All that the SAD diet does is increase dependency on the medical establishment, in the long-term.  I donate canned beans and stewed tomatoes and canned tuna and Dinty Moore stews (the latter probably not fully healthy, but better, far better, than the cheap pasta offerings that probably 80% of the donations at food banks consist of).   I select canned fruit with the least amount of added sugars, too.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/11/04/361187352/army-eyes-3d-printed-food-for-soldiers  The military investigates using those 3-D printers for making food, presumably not with plastics…

Will 3-D food look like this?

Will 3-D food look like this?

Printed food, if it becomes possible, is only going to be as good as the materials/nutrients you put in.  I don’t see this happening anytime soon in the field.  Investigating it, however, as a potential alternative to MRE’s isn’t a bad idea, however.  We will see what unfolds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

