Breakfast: Egg, Avocado, Grapefruit

I go through a lot of eggs in my house.  This is one reason I do my best to ensure I’m buying eggs from local farmers who raise up their chickens properly.  Chickens are omnivores — they eat worms and bugs as well as grasses and seeds.  And your vegetable garden, if you make the mistake of letting them near…

They cost a  little more, but less than what each egg costs you at a restaurant or that fast food joint that you might pull into because you are rushed on your way to work.  And, seriously, they taste better too…

Eggs.  Avocado.  Grapefruit.  Happy 'n' Healthy 'n'Tasty breakfast.

Eggs. Avocado. Grapefruit. Happy ‘n’ Healthy ‘n’ Tasty breakfast

On weekdays, when I have eggs for breakfast, I tend to make them soft-boiled (the proper term is “soft-cooked”) or poached.  On  weekends when I have more leisure, frying, or scrambling (America’s Test Kitchen has the hands down best recipe for those delicious big curds, although I’d cook them an additional half-minute) them; or cooking the little bursts of nutrition into an omelet.  I’ve also experimented with crust-less quiches, or baked (in an avocado), or baked (in a muffin pan) with veggies and cheese.  For road trips, I often arm up with a few hard-cooked eggs for at least the beginning of the duration of travel.

(My triglyceride levels in 2014 were 65 units of however they measure that, well below normal.  My HDL to LDL ratio was outstanding.  Thank you for wondering…  Ever since I moderated my grain and sugar intake over the past two-three years these parameters have only gotten better!  Frankly, I don’t expect such good news in my upcoming blood screen late March (results still pending), because I’ve relied a little too much on convenience over home-cooked quality of late.  There were some bad familial shocks last fall, and I am slowly getting back out of that “convenience” habit.)

For this meal:

I’d planned to poach one egg and put it into the half-an-avocado and serve it that way, along with the half a grapefruit.  The yolk broke when I put it in the cup I use to collect the eggs for poaching — poaching a broken-yolked-egg is just rather un-appealing!

So, I decided to fry the egg, and to help my spirits along, I threw in a second egg, whose yolk did NOT shatter.  So, okay, one was sunny side up and aiming for inclusion in that avocado half; and one was fried hard-cooked.

Pan frying your eggs:  Get your cooking oil (avocado oil in this case) up to temperature — medium heat, splash a drop of water on it to see if it starts to sizzle.  You are ready!

To cook the sunny side up egg:  when it lands in the skillet, use your spatula to make sure the egg whites disperse and get thoroughly cooked.  The egg whites, being the outer portion closest to the egg-shell, is where bacteria may lodge.  Plus, I believe the protein of the whites are more bio-available when fully cooked.  Reduce heat as needed – personally, I hate the whites turning brown and crispy, but I have indeed recently seen a couple of blogs where the authors relished that.  Not me.  Those are seriously failed eggs to my taste buds.

The hard-cooked broken egg — it was flipped after a couple of minutes. And indeed nearly at the end of cooking time, I flipped it again, and over and a-top the sunny side egg whites to encourage those whites to get more fully cooked.

Seasoning:  I used some ground ancho chili powder and a little garlic powder.

Into the half an avocado, I put the sunny side up egg (leaving most of its whites with its partner).

And then, half a grapefruit.  I know that grapefruit interferes with a lot of medicinals, but I’m not currently on any meds.  I do take Vitamin D3 and a couple of other supplements, but none of these are truly critical nor prescribed.

With this breakfast:  I felt truly healthy and happy!

Read more:   Eat the Yolks, by Liz Wolfe.

 

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

