Ridin’ the Storm Out

Ah, yes, serious storm preparations regarding incoming storm Sandy have been occurring here.  I did want to post this yesterday but ran out of time for various reasons, not all storm-related.  Anyhow…

Simply a small portion of storm prep hereabouts.

This is not completely accurate — that gadget in the middle is indeed a hand-crank coffee grinder, and it really works, but if I can pre-grind my coffee before the lights go out, then I save this rather cool gadget from being stained by coffee coloration.  But if it turns out I really need or want it, there it is.  And yes, that is a Miletta coffee “maker” at about 11 o’clock to it.  Again (like the even-better French press), no electricity required.

I hope we all recognize the can opener.  I’ve never owned an electric one.  Those things remind me of a story a few years back after a serious regional power outage — a lot of people contacted the police because they could not get into their homes, as the only “key” they carried was their automatic garage door openers.

My preparations extended beyond the quite-limited items I hauled out for this photo-op.  This time, I even pre-cooked food, so I can save the canned stuff as items of last resort.  It will be cool enough that such foods will preserve for awhile without total refrigeration, and by that point the storm should have passed, and the grill will be ready, if needed.

Anyhow, I hope all are safe, and remain safe.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ridin’ the Storm Out

  1. Hi there! Just checking in – hope you came out of the storm OK!

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  2. I came thru fine. Lost power for 20 hours which is nothing – some folk still don ‘t have power. I have just been super busy the last couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

