Red Rhode Island Shrimp, Served Two Ways

I continue to work on a backlog of a few posts, now that the weather is cooler.  This item was actually cooked back in August, and alas, Rhode Island shrimp are seasonal.  Hold onto this post, or use regular shrimp if you wish.  Or wait for Maine shrimp season.  But I’ll say that the Rhodies have the advantage of being wild-caught and haven’t been swimming in whatever the Gulf water has been treated with of late.   (No that stuff hasn’t been teleported up to the Starship Enterprise…)

corn on the cob; shrimp

Fresh Corn on the Cob with Shrimp

Mind you, I’ve started a few posts, or I had a few pictures without posts, but.  Unfortunately, I’m like my coconut oil:  I melt in hot weather.  Especially my brain.  My house has two A/C window units, and neither are near the kitchen.

I still cook, or grill outdoors, but putting words together in a coherent row:  not so easy when it was hot.

The other weekend, I hit three farmers’ markets, one roadside fish stand, and one town market with specialty teas.  I drove up north with cooler in tow, and a few mid-sized arborvitae (is there a plural form for this shrub?) to plant on my land in Massachusetts.  After doing so, I had a wonderful evening with friends who live nearby there, donating my nectarines from one of those markets to the worthy cause.

Today, I’m cooking, cleaning the kitchen, and playing with learning how to do tile.  If I get more done, such as this blog post, all the merrier.  (It didn’t.  I wrote this in September…)

BREAKFAST — (I live alone, I can eat what I want for breakfast, even if I do usually have eggs…):  RHODE ISLAND RED SHRIMP PLUS CORN ON THE COB.

Serves one (good for lunch as well, I’m sure)

I cooked 2/3 lb shrimp, in this case wild-caught Rhode Island Red, but not all was intended for breakfast.  I’s say maybe I ate one quarter of that, or maybe less for breakfast.  But I cooked them all at the same time.
1 really fresh corn on the cob from a Farmer’s market
A little Celtic sea salt.

Bring a pot of water to boil.

Toss in your peeled ear of corn.  It is important to go fresh as possible.  The composition of the corn changes rapidly, losing its flavor.  At any rate, let the ear cook for 2-4 minutes, then remove.  Sprinkle a little salt over the top.  Really fresh ears of corn do not beg for butter.

It’s up to you to peal, or not peal, your shrimp before cooking (if so, do it before starting the corn).  I tried some both ways.  The pre-pealed of course stays warmer if you plan to eat right after cooking, but the other is great to peal when you are planning to serve it cold for salads.  The Rhode Island Red shrimp are seasonal, and at this roadside stand they’d talked about them earlier (my Arctic char visits).  The fisherman who catches them for market had personal-life delays before being able to get out to sea, but he does catch them near Rhode Island.  They are more delicate (colder waters???) than Gulf shrimp, and you don’t have to worry about any BP residues, and you cook them quick, like Maine shrimp.  They look more or less like Gulf shrimp, but texturally, they must have this cold water thing going for them.  Like Maine shrimp, you don’t steam or boil them for a second over 1 minute.  Taste-wise, they are in-between, I think.

I used the water the corn was cooked in, and upon boiling, tossed them in for that minute (or 55 seconds…)  Drain, cool down for a few seconds with a little tap water, and serve with the corn.

I reserved, as noted, most of them for later in the week.

SALAD:

Cooked, peeled shrimp
Lettuce, garden good tomato, cabbage, cuke, avocado,  etc your choices

Chop up all the veggies bite size, add in the shrimp, toss.  It was good enough I opted out of salad dressing.  I didn’t get around to hitting up the camera, either.  But, enjoy!

PS:  I reserved the shells in the freezer to add to a future seafood stock, not yet created.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Salads, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

