Out for Sushi: Little Tokyo, Norwalk, Connecticut.

My main course: Sashimi Regular, with a side of Uni

Four of us met last night for a true sushi treat in Norwalk, or perhaps I should say the northern regions of Norwalk before you hit the city proper.  This is close enough to work that it is a DO.  Even if I agreed at the last moment (the night before).

Unfortunately, it is not all sustainable seafood, but I am heartened by the fact the last time I ate at Yokohama (New Milford, CT), they had wild-caught Pacific salmon on their menu.  No such luck at this restaurant, at this time.  Okay, long story short, I didn’t go entirely sustainable this night.

But, what else did we have?  I had age dashi tofu, which is sometimes served with way way too much coatings of corn starch, but here it was great.  I chose the option without fish for my appetizer, but Marianne had the unagi (eel) age dashi tofu, which I photographed below, since it was more photogenic than mine.  Notice the lack of excess sweet eel sauce, and yes, the corn starch layer is extremely thin.   Also:  note that COOL sushi plate!  A little corner for the sauce (soy or whatever), and the rest of the plate for the main ideas.  Lovely!

Age Dashi Tofu — with Unagi — compatriot’s choice

Our other two companions split several appetizers and a few rolls. Here is their platter of rolls, which includes the (rice-free) Naruto roll, surrounded by peeled cucumber. In this case, the innards I understand are spicy yellowfin tuna.

Naruto roll in front. You will have to guess about the others.

And at the very end, I want to mention an appetizer to die for. The white tuna Tataki selection. It is spicy without being fatty or sugary, and it has cuke slivers along with the white albacore tuna.

A couple of un-photogenic splatters, but the taste was supreme. White tuna is Albacore.

AND, where ever I can, I eat all the daikon radish or cucumber presented.

Oh, and yes:  the link to the restaurant:  Little Tokyo.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dining Out, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

