New Morning Health Food Store

In Woodbury, Connecticut, there’s arguably the best health food store in western Connecticut — if there is another it is probable I haven’t been to it yet.  (Post, and advise me!)

New Morning Health Food

Waiting for them to put up the old 70’s style logo over the front door. Hoping they do so. It no longer hangs on the original locale.<br>My load of veggies was already here, so no new ones today

New Morning  just moved from its outgrown old location a bit further north in Woodbury, and re-opened on May 17.  I understand their official celebratory opening was yesterday or Friday, but this was not good enough reason to partake in Crowd Scene.  So, I went today.

The old store had charm, but many of the aisles were as cramped as New York City bodega aisles, where rent per square foot is a serious factor in a city where upward is the only way to expand.  This new store has room to grow into, and they seem to be organizing nicely — and they even provide a map!  It’s needed.

Yes, prices are higher (they always were) than your supermarket.  My supermarket has now started selling the Kombucha beverages for a dollar under what you pay here, so I’ll support my supermarket (less gasoline expended anyway) for that.  The vegetables they sell here are local (everything is marked) and/or organic.  I didn’t buy veggies today because I already had a load of:  arugula, celery, ramps, turnips, spinach, avocado at home. Farmers’ markets tend to have better prices, but not always.

Also:  please note, just because it is sold at a health food store, doesn’t mean it is healthy.  I gagged, seriously gagged, when I saw Annie’s rabbit-shaped organic fruit thingies.   I wish I remembered the whole name, but perhaps a memory blank is a blessed thing?  These things sat near a variety of organic chips, organic “cheeze-coated” popcorn, etc.  Just because faux processed food was industrially organic, it does not make it good for us.  I will (as I did then) close my eyes while passing by the aisle containing sweeteners.  Please don’t think agave is better than sugar.  It’s the same stuff.  Possibly processed a little less, but the same stuff.  I haven’t, personally, gotten past stevia because to me it tastes like what I’d imagine toe jam might taste like.  However that one does appear to have some good health recommendations for it, so if it tastes sweet to you, go for it.

This is not a complaint about New Morning.  All health food stores carry this stuff.  I understand Whole Foods carries this stuff (that chain is too far away in the wrong direction for me to visit, currently.)    It just means when you go into a store, ANY store, read the freaking labels, please.

In the interests of good reportage, and knowing I wanted to know about what I might be missing out, I checked out the Veganaise ersatz mayo labels.  They do have one line of product that does not contain soy protein isolate/textured soy protein (I seriously have nothing against REAL soy, but this other stuff requires hexane in its production).  Indeed that one product line has no soy at all.  I’d consider in a pinch if they had a really small jar — since when I used to buy mayo, it was always in really small jars to begin with.  Alas no really small jars for my once or twice yearly need for mayo.  I’ll go without.   (It’s some of the specific veggie fats I’m avoiding over the egg, to be honest.  Truly pastured eggs are good for you.)

Anyhow, my haul (minus the bottle of Kvass, which wasn’t really all that good, that I consumed on the way home).

Food Haul Today

Three types of tea, ginger root, eggplant, butter, 2 chicken legs, anchovy paste, bananas, goat yogurt, tomato sauce, eggs (from Southbury, one town away), citric acid (for canning/fermenting), dish detergent, non-instant hot multi-grain cereal.  Again, I already have a good stock of fresh veggies (greens and root) already in place here at home.

NO Annie’s Anythings!  Rabbit shaped fruitoid substances, or otherwise!

At any rate, I do recommend this store to the discerning shopper, which I truly hope becomes all of us.  I’m glad to see these folk take the step upwards, and I sincerely hope they expand, because there’ll be a lot of good nutritional ideas that will expand at the same time.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Morning Health Food Store

  1. Oh my goodness! Funniest post ever! No Annies things or Rabbit shaped fruitoid substances…what a chuckle! Keep me posted on your DC trip this fall.

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    • Thanks, Devaki! I will be in D.C. mid-November. I’m hoping to have time to look up a few good restaurants. I also have an aunt and uncle in Silver Spring that I’ll want to touch base with.

Leave a Reply

