On a Wing and a Prayer

Spicy Wings

Okay, up front here, serious disclaimer and curmudgeon alert (but we will get to the recipe sooner or later):  watching grass grow is more interesting and rewarding to me than watching pro sports, especially football or baseball.  Basketball at least has handsomely svelte, tall physiques going for it (I’m six foot one, and so definitely appreciate that!), and ice hockey has the grace of skating and the potential of unexpected shattered teeth.  (No, I seriously don’t want injuries, but it’s the potential for drama there, which I hope is not actualized…)

And indeed, when I do view basketball or ice hockey on the tube, I’d rather the sound be off.  I find the natter noxious, rather like listening to most rap or Barry Manilow or something.   I’d don’t care who wins – its the patterns I’d rather appreciate, in those couch potato sports that provide any visual pleasure.  Actually, when you come right down to it, it’s the natter I can least stand.  One can always look away from a screen.  You can’t tune out the natter, when you are trapped.  Chinese water torture is the sound of one drop of water, followed by another drop, followed by another.  I’d prefer that, seriously.  (This is why live games in a stadium are far superior to the canned stuff on TV, even if that is also “live”.)  I think this is the real reason I don’t like televised pro sports.  I don’t tolerate well certain types of noise.  I like the patterns on the playing field (for certain sports), but it is not worth putting up with the natter, for me.

When you get down to it, I just don’t know any of the players.  As in, personally.  If I knew a player, as in I could talk to him or her about something, and we can share life’s existence on some mutual plane — it would be different.  I’d be out there rooting for him or her for the sake of him or her’s goals.  But, hey, I don’t run in such a rarified crowd.  I’ll root instead for a friend’s kid playing Little League.  On the field.  In person.

The only fun thing about the Super Bowl is that chicken wings have become traditional snack food events.  It is about the only decent food frequently served at such events.  But I can do them any day, without the Super Bowl.   But if you are a “traditionalist” — well, I’m not sure what “traditional” means when this event is younger than I am, but anyways — let’s get into WINGS.

I found an excellent recipe online for low carb buffalo wings.  You can get them low carb without breading them, and you certainly can get them crispy without frying them.  These are EXCELLENT!

Check out http://www.ibreatheimhungry.com/2012/01/classic-buffalo-wings.html for this recipe.  Melissa has got a great site with many fascinating recipes in other regards, too.  Check this blog out, she’s worth following.  Food, photos, etc., what’s not to like?

My adaptation — here I decided to eliminate the butter.  It still works, even if at a certain point we’ll have to stop calling them “Buffalo” wings.  Quantities will all depend on spice/heat tolerance and the number of people you are serving.  Vary it, if you have a quantity of people coming.

Spicy Chicken Wings

Chicken wings – Near me, Stew Leonard’s (a small CT and NY chain) carries fresh “naked” chicken, and they sell a wing party pack which is on sale this week.  No slicing, no dicing, or removing wing tips, and the quality is at least better than Purdue or Tyson.  No, not as good as free range.  Find what you can, though, best fresh, and remove the tips for soup or stock if you need.
Ground Pepper
Sea salt 
Ground Chipotle powder
Hot sauce (I used Cholula’s  Hot Sauce)

Layer the wing bits out on a pan for the oven, which you’ve pre-heated to 350 F.

Sprinkle the pepper, salt and chipotle over, to taste.  I’d go sparing on the salt, but do use a little.  I have found that the more and more I get away from processed foodoid substances, the more I can appreciate salt I add myself to many foods.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Pull out of the oven.

Drop on the hot sauce, NOT to cover completely,  but to add dribs and drabs of hot here and there on your wings.  You don’t have the butter here to dilute the hot sauce. If you are not sure how hot you like your wings (or you are having guests who may have differing taste buds) spritz the hot sauce differently on different wings.  By the color, people will be able to tell what’s what.

Put them back in the oven, and bake another ten minutes.

Pull out and serve with your favorite dipping sauce(s) and serve along with quality celery sticks, if you can find them.

Dig in, enjoy!

And now, I’m off to do something far more interesting to me than football.

Housework.  (If you know me, you know this is a stretch…)

But if the Superbowl suits you, by all means enjoy!!!  And note:  I probably won’t be synchronizing my flushing with you, which might be good for the septic engineers.  And Madonna only had one good album as far as I’m concerned, so I’m not missing out there, either.  Have a great Sunday!

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Commentary, Cooking, Meats, Poultry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On a Wing and a Prayer

  1. Pingback: Chicken Wings Redux Plus Blue Cheese Dip | Of Goats and Greens

Leave a Reply

