Canned Tomato Salsa

http://www.canning-food-recipes.com/canning_tomatoes.htm#Salsa

Yes, I wanted good canned salsa that I could set up myself, and that I wouldn’t need to add sugar to. (I’m lovin’ the Low Carb Vida…) This is the source I used.

Note a variety of tomato and pepper colors here

5 pounds tomatoes (from farmstands or from farmers’ markets, or homegrown if ya got the sun), skinned and cored and any bad bits cut out.
2 pounds peppers, de-stemmed and de-seeded
1 pound onion, peeled
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
3 teaspoons salt (I used the pickling salt they had me buy to make pickles)
1 cup vinegar (I used apple cider, but red would work too)

To be safe, I weighted the veggies prior to de-coring, de-seeding etc.  I did not de-seed the tomatoes; I really don’t mind the seeds at all.  Nor did the recipe call for that.

One of these is a cubanelle, the other ?

I used a variety of peppers, I think it was 1.5 bell peppers, and the two depicted above, plus a couple of jalopenos.  This came to what I’m rating as a Medium Plus salsa, in heat.  My next batch will be a Medium Minus. or so I plan.  I neither wish to blow my tastebuds out, nor to make my salsa insipidly bland.

Chop everything up.

Get it simmering, get your cans ready (fresh lids if you’ve got ones you used before — start fresh, for the seal.  I hear they now have re-usable lids for a bit more cost, but frankly, the lids aren’t a bank-breaking deal, so I use new ones.)

Can, following good water bath canning practices, leave 1/2 inch headspace and simmering another 15 minutes in the canner.

This recipe made 6 full pints of salsa, with a little left over for me to taste without being canned.

“Grass-finished” pints of salsa

By the way, when it is time to use the salsa, I plan on getting some fresh cilantro, and adding some in as I go.


In other news:  I cored a bunch of tomatoes, put them in a good freezer bag, and froze them, chopped in halves or quarters, depending on size.  When they thaw for future meals, I can easily peal them then, and use them as I see fit.   I’ve also canned up some green string beans with pickling cucumbers, but was not in a photographic mood that evening.

Recent Farmers’ Market and Roadside Stand acquisitions:

September 10 I didn’t have a chance to get to a market before they closed for the day, but I hit up Larson’s Farm, New Milford.  They specialize in sweet corn, but also carry other things:

September 10, Larson’s Stand

And on September 17th, I made a good scoring at two markets:

September 17, Farmer’s Market Extravaganza

Some of this has been put into reserve. The bag of red tomatoes to the upper right is going to become Medium Minus salsa today or tomorrow.  Many of the peppers will make an appearance there as well.  The other tomatoes are currently being eaten by yours truly, in whatever form.  Potatoes, winter squash, onions, garlic and that celery root thing over there to the left have good keeping/storage potential.   And that’s bacon and another cut of pork down there to the lower right.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cooking, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Canned Tomato Salsa

  1. photosbykt says:

    I too, had fun canning homegrown salsa. After 2 days we yielded 145 jars of sassy salsa. Check out my photos on my blog. I know you will appreciate the work.
    http://www.photosby-KT.com

  2. Pingback: Eel…. and Olive. | Of Goats and Greens

Leave a Reply

