Dijon Lamb Patties

Enjoy the sunshine-raised lamb!

1 pound ground lamb, preferably pastured
2 tablespoons quality Dijon mustard
1 heaping teaspoon quality capers
1 “late spring/early summer” onion (see next photo), diced small
Ground pepper
Red pepper flakes (optional)
Lettuce

Trader Joe’s Dijon, and mini-onion bulb

Mix it all up – I love egg photography!

Mix everything together except the lettuce, using your hands.  The capers were a last-second inspiration.  If you like, add a twist of sea salt.  Form the meat into patties:  I like making them slider-sized these days, but it’s up to you.  This made nine mini-patties, although one didn’t fit on the plate for its photo-op.

Eight of Nine

I had intended to grill these at a get-together I’d planned on going to (using a little oil on the grill grate first, to minimize sticking), but since I had to remain home due to being under the weather, I didn’t see the point in firing up my own charcoal for a limited meal, since I only wanted to cook what I was going to eat that meal (three patties).  But if you grill, do use a little oil on the (well-cleaned) grate.

Anyhow, skillet:  being as this is lamb, which has lots of internal fat, I didn’t put any cooking oils or such into the skillet.  Bring it up to temp — medium high — then add a few patties, and cook, turning once or twice.

Medium or medium rare is when they are ready.  They won’t be boldly red or pink like beef burgers, so play this by judgment.  Use a toothpick to test if in doubt.

Place on crisp lettuce broken roughly to size, add any desired condiments, cover with more lettuce, and serve.  By making the patties slider-sized, you can pick up a patty in its lettuce “sandwich” and eat it with fingers.  I cooked as many per meal as I planned to eat each time.  Do finish off what you make in a timely fashion, however, and if you can’t, then of course cook it and reserve it.

The lettuce upper left is for capping the patties post-photography

Lamb:  Tralfamadore Farm, VA.  Onion and lettuce:  Bethel Farmer’s Market, CT.  (Dad lives in Virginia and I visit, so that makes the lamb local.)

The condiment to top a few of these mini-burgers (such as the topmost image) was a “farmstead artisan goat cheese” obtained at the Danbury Mall’s new farmer’s market, produced by Painted Goat, Garrattsville, NY.   Garden Garlic and Chives.  When I flip the burger the final time, I add about 1/2 teaspoon per destination burger, and it will melt slightly.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Meats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

