Lettuce and Wild Smoked Salmon Rollups

I do have some catching-up to do.  At any rate, I took this appetizer to a BBQ party a couple weeks ago.  It was simple, and well-appreciated.

Lettuce, small leaf
Wild smoked salmon — I believe sockeye
Cream cheese/soft goat cheese
Capers
Fresh Dill

I’d gotten the salmon from Costco a couple months back, and had frozen it.  My original idea had been to roll the stuff up in the salmon, but the salmon just decided to fragment when I tried to separate slices.  Invention is always nice, so the lettuce came into play.

As for the cream cheese:  I would have preferred the block of Philadelphia brand cream cheese to the tub (less ingredients), but for ease of working with on a limited time crunch, I went with the tub.  (This was the day after a hell-racing trip to Chicago and back for my brother’s surprise 50th birthday party.)  Best yet will be someday I am going to make my own cream cheese.  One could also substitute in a creamy soft goat cheese in this recipe, as well.

Mix up the cream cheese (or goat cheese) with capers and dill.  Reserve some extra dill.

Lay out the lettuce leaves.  You can trim some down to size.  These appetizers aren’t going to be uniform, but that’s fine.  Everyone gets the taste size they prefer.  Lay down pieces of salmon, and top with a small dollop of cheese mixture.

For any pieces that look a bit bereft of dill or capers, scatter a little on top.

Roll up the lettuce, and insert toothpicks to hold them together.

Lettuce Salmon Wrap

Bring to the party and watch them get devoured.  They were a success, but next time it will be goat cheese!

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cooking, Seafood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

