Farm To Consumer Legal Defense Fund

Okay, cottage cheese seriously skeeves me out.  I don’t care if it is from pasture-indulgent cows, or from the supermarket; I can’t eat it.  (Okay, if it is cooked into lasagna, then I can deal.)  Milk and direct milk products are things I have to think about, before consuming.  I won’t do skim or 1% milk, if only because during college those things were nearly always rancid. I haven’t been able to try goat milk, because I’m just like wondering… eh???

It’s me.  I know it’s me.  I know I can’t begin to try raw milk, from a cow or a goat or a sheep (but I have eaten raw milk in the form of goat or sheep cheese).  It’s me.  It’s NOT the source.

There’s this big drive in the country to ban anyone from eating raw milk or raw milk products.  I’m probably not going to eat most of them, but I recognize this as my own internal quibbles, quiverings, and personal paranoias, and NOT something that should be made into a legal law-ish sort of thing.

I don’t drink raw milk, at least right now, but I totally support this site:   http://www.ftcldf.org/.  Let fully-informed individuals decide this on their own!!  The raw milk on sale in most states is from fully-pastured animals, and this counts for a big deal.  The very real e.coli infestations come from factory farmed areas; the spinach that was contaminated with it a few years ago was downstream of factory farms.

We, the consumers, need to decide ourselves what we will eat.  Raw milk?  Bring it on!

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

