Juice: Grapefruit, cuke, onion, bell pepper, spinach, cilantro

1 grapefruit *
1/3 cucumber, peeled (you can leave the peel on if it isn’t supermarket-waxed)
two or three slices of onion, depending on the size of your onion.  Peeled of course
1/3 bell pepper
a goodly handful of fresh spinach
a few sprigs cilantro, to taste and to potency
1 scallion, root removed

*grapefruit:  I tried mashing one side of the grapefruit in an old manual citrus juicer, the type where wrist action is the only moving part.  The thing is designed more for oranges and smaller citrus, so while I was able to juice this, I got better luck on the other side by using the grapefruit knife to cut the sections away from that tasteless and annoying connective tissue, then throwing the sections into the container with the other veggies.

Yes, Virginia, there is a Grapefruit Knife

For juicing, the grapefruit provided sufficient water that I needed not to add more.

Items were cut down to sizes that the Cuisinart Smart Stick could appreciate, which is a fairly quick process.  (As mentioned earlier, I could get a real juicer, but I like 1) the lack of kitchen footprint of a Smart Stick, 2) the retention of pulp, 3) the easy cleaning of this item).

Juiced the above down and it was good.   Still, it wanted just something more…

Option One:  Salad dressing.  Pop in a bit of extra virgin olive oil and a splash or so of vinegar (rice wine or red would work).  Made a decent dressing, especially with a bit of extra cilantro chopped up to add to that ambiance.

Juice as dressing base, cilantro floating to top

Option Two:  V8 it — add a couple dashes of a mildish hot sauce like Tabasco’s Chipotle flavor.  Excellent, it adds a layer of nuance that is NOT hot, more like a V8 without the tomato.  (No, I am not actually adding tomatoes to any of my juicings until Real Tomato Season returns this coming summer.  I don’t waste my time consuming cardboard.)

To clean your Smart Stick:  While still plugged in, immerse it in a bowl of fresh water, and run it.  Unplug it, then carefully perform final cleanup as needed.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Juice: Grapefruit, cuke, onion, bell pepper, spinach, cilantro

  1. WOW! What a juice and I am glad I am not alone when I do my carrot, beet and spinach combo 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  2. Tammy McLeod says:

    Ok, as a dressing base I could do this but could never drink it with the onion in there. eeeeew.

Leave a Reply

