Ocean Perch

This is a nice, delicate fish.  You don’t want to go overboard on it.

There’s a good basil/Dijon-based vinaigrette which works well with this dish:  Check here –I did less oil (and what I used was extra virgin olive oil), and a speck less honey and salt.

Anyhow, wash the perch fillets, bake with real olives (pitted and sliced) and a splash of white balsamic vinegar for about 6-8 minutes at 350 F.  Place on a leaf or a bed of lettuce (this was hydroponic lettuce from a farmer’s market, but that’s not essential at this time of year), and drizzle the above dressing over this.  Eat while the perch is still warm.

I’ve been using this vinaigrette on a few items this week.  Regular salads, and as a dipping sauce for hot, freshly-cooked artichoke leaves.  Tangy and enticing!

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Seafood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ocean Perch

  1. MommyMatter says:

    Going to have to try this out this weekend. Looks so good, and so easy to make! Thanks for sharing your recipe idea.

  2. Hi there!

    My name is Steve Walters and I recently started blogging at http://www.eatingbangkok.com, which is currently being updated with recipes, but in the next few months will be my vehicle for covering the food and restaurant scene in Bangkok Thailand.

    I am now in the process of meeting as many food bloggers as I can and I found your site https://goatsandgreens.wordpress.com recently and was pretty impressed. I’ve added your site to my Foodie Blogs list here: http://www.eatingbangkok.com/foodie-blogs/ and would also like to add you to my blogroll.

    If you could add my site to your blogroll and write back to let me know it has been added I will add you to mine as well and the exchange would be greatly appreciated!

    As you might imagine I am very excited to get moved to Bangkok and get started on covering the food scene there as I feel it is an area that isn’t well covered by English speaking bloggers. I plan on adding loads of great reviews, pictures and even video and will be holding contests as well. It should be fun, entertaining and informative for everyone that visits.

    Thank you so much in advance for adding me to your blogroll and I look forward to reading your posts (I’ve subscribed!) and maybe even featuring some of your own posts as I do plan on a weekly roundup of Thai themed recipes and posts from other food bloggers.

    Warm regards,
    Steve

    P.S. If you are on Twitter I would love to have you as a follower and I follow back:
    http://www.twitter.com/eatingbangkok

  3. I’m not on Twitter at this point (maybe later) but I will add you to my blogroll after work this evening. I just checked out your blog, and it looks great! It doesn’t hurt that Thai is one of my favorite cuisines, either.

    Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

