A Few Short Notes or So – Including Juice Recipes and a Pastured Meat Source

This blog's first non-food-related photo ever

Tired of winter.  ‘Nuff said.
Rating:  0 out of 5

###

There’s this great series of article/diner blogs regarding photographing food in the New York Times. The most current is Food Photography:  Shooting Smoke, Steam and Flames.   Scroll to the bottom of that page, and you link to several more blog articles:  How to Shoot Soup; How to Shoot Ugly Food: How to Shoot the Holiday Table.

Since this blog combines two of my favorite hobbies (cooking and photography), I’ll keep my eye out on this series.

###

I am now about ten pounds away from my destination weight that I believe I should weigh.  I focus on low carb, whole foods, portion control, and unstructured exercise.  (Lots of walking and, well, snow shoveling, of late.)  I’ve just started a class in Tai Chi, more for mental and physical balance (both sorely lacking at times) than for weight loss.  I don’t count points or calories but I often do track what I’ve eaten, and if a restaurant that I’m going to visit has an online menu for me to view, I get an idea of what I’ll order before I arrive there.  Another note about this:  diets are ephemeral.  I’d like this to be a nutritional plan, rather than a diet.  Flexibility within guidelines is what can help this be a lifetime thing (hence no countings).

###

Low carb doesn’t mean NO carb.   I created a couple new juicings recently.  I leave the pulp in:  FIBER!  Even if this is indeed less fiber than eating the fruit as-is, it is still good.

1 Blood orange, peeled and any seeds removed. (Wow, the color on this thing!  I’m stunned!  You’d think it was the first time I’d ever seen one, and you’d actually be right!)

1 Plum, large, core removed.

1 scallion

3/4 cup green seedless grapes, twigs removed.

Depending on your blender tool, chop up the above as required, add a little water, and blenderize.  Then mix gently with seltzer to your desired consistency (or more water if you prefer).  Serves two.  And it photographs magnificently!

Rating:  5 out of 5.

###

And another one, which came out drab in visuals, so I didn’t even attempt the photography.  (How DO you compete with a blood orange???)  The taste, however, is superior.  Meanwhile, back to that course in photographing Ugly Food…

3/4 cup green seedless grapes, twigs removed.

1 plum, large, core removed.

1/2 lime, peel and any seeds removed.   You can leave some zest.

3 sprigs of really good cilantro (it HAS to have a scent.   If it doesn’t, forget it, it won’t have a taste).

Add a little water, chop the above up to whatever degree your blender requires, and blenderize.  After, dilute to the preferred consistency with seltzer (okay, by now you guess I like the tongue-buzz of spritzers) or with water, and enjoy.

Rating:  5 out of 5, if visuals are secondary.

PS:  I don’t do juicings every day.

###

A grassfed, fully pastured, meat source:   Laurel Ridge Beef.  Litchfield, Connecticut.

Everything I’ve tried there so far has been excellent!  Granted, I haven’t tried their beef yet (other than their beef tongue), since I get my beef from the farm in Virginia, but despite the beef in their name, they also sell pork and chicken.  Every once in a while I hanker for a good cut of pork.  Their picnic shoulder roast was to die for.  The short ribs I recently bought were to die for.   The Boston butt didn’t turn out so well, but that was the chef’s fault, not theirs.  I let the slow cooker cook too long — if I wanted shredded pork I would have been pleased as punch, but I had wanted a more solid result.  So, that one’s my fault.

Unfortunately, their bacon sells at $12 a pound, so I sighed and didn’t buy.  I can get cheaper, humanely (I hope!) treated sources elsewhere.  On the other hand, their beef tongue is far cheaper than  what crops up  on occasion at a nearby supermarket.  Their chicken prices are just a little above what I think they should be (I am judging by the price I got charged at Joel Salatin’s Polyface Farm in the summer of 2009), so since this is the Northeast, I’ll deal.  Or I’ll sometimes buy Murray’s chicken, or the Otis Poultry Farm chicken, but that might be another discussion.

Above food is pastured beef tongue.  I simmered it forever in dill pickled vinegar juice, apple cider vinegar, and pickling spices, which included cloves set into slits made in the skin or flesh.  Cut the vinegary stuff about 1:1 with tap water.  Simmer forever (3-4 hours for beef tongue) then let cool a little, and remove the skin.  Serve with spicy mustard or with horseradish, or a horseradish mustard.   I think this is a seriously-underrated beef cut.  Cooked right, this is extremely tender and nutritious.

And if the idea of eating tongue skeeves you out: don’t even begin to contemplate what’s in your generic hotdog or fast food hamburger.  At least I know where this dinner came from.

Laurel Ridge Rating:   5 out of 5 regarding the things I’ve eaten from there.

###

Lastly, I’ve joined something called the Foodie Blog Roll.  It appears to be a great networking device for those of us interested in topics related to food to just generally mill (notice the food-related metaphor) around and network.  Cool.

And there is also Foodista. Sort of a Wiki for food.

 

 

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Meats, Offal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Few Short Notes or So – Including Juice Recipes and a Pastured Meat Source

  1. Okay like the drinks not the tongue, yuck on that one.

  2. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

