Goats and Reds

Just a brief.  Thick Angora goat ribs (Nancy’s farm in VA – Tralfamadore Farm), nestled in a marinate of gluten-free teryaki, vinegar and a few Indian spices, along with the very last farmer’s market tomato of 2010.  Ready to place in oven.  Cooked sometime last November.  Just to confirm that we do eat goat in these here parts.

Serve medium-rare.  Goat tastes like a cross between beef and lamb.

Rating:  4.75 out of 5.

I’m not on a gluten-free diet, but a friend of mine at work is, as of earlier this year.   From my research into the matter, it appears there are degrees of gluten sensitivity.  I’m planning in the near future to eliminate gluten from my diet for a month just to see how I feel after.  Mind you, I won’t stay totally gluten-free unless things change in my body in unforeseen ways — I would absolutely HATE to forgo the on-site offerings from the Bantam Bread Company.

I had a discussion on hot house tomatoes with Dad when I went down to Virginia over the holidays.  My policy is not to buy them until they are in season again.   A longstanding policy ever since freshman year in college, years and years ago.  (Okay, occasionally I’ve bought the grape tomatoes, somehow they still have flavor.)  My reasoning had been, why spend money on something with less flavor than cardboard?  Dad used to not buy hothouse tomatoes in the old days, either, but here we were, in his kitchen, saddled with them.  “Oh, you cover them up with lots of seasonings or dressings, they’re fine…”  No.  No thank you, I’ll wait until next summer.

If I want cardboard, I’ll do it direct.   Any ingredient in a meal should add to, not detract from, the pleasure derived.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

