The Soup’s the Thing

Lettuce SoupTwo vegetarian soups from that recipe swap thing I do on Recipezaar/Food.com. I do love a good soup, and although I’m avoiding cream-based soups at the moment (weight control and health), the one depicted above doesn’t contain much.

First up, and right above, is the Romanian Lettuce Soup. When I read the name, I thought it meant a soup from Romania, and maybe it does, but apparently it means you should use romanian lettuce. Go figure. I took another reviewer’s suggestion and used boston lettuce. Otherwise, other than increasing the amount of garlic and failing to find parsley in the supermarket, I made it the same as in the original. The concept of putting lettuce in soup is original, and thus I couldn’t resist.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5. It needed some more seasonings, I think.

Second soup: Persian Onion Soup. (See why I got confused, above?) Other than halving the recipe, I made this as requested (vegetarian broth), although I tend to eyeball spice amounts rather than measure. Very very good! It’s more of a stew than a soup but maybe the originator’s large onions were smaller than my large onions. (I am going to have to look for a good garlic soup and a good mustard soup one of these days.)

First up is a photo of the onions (one red that was insisting it was on its last legs, and one white) after a bit of sauteeing.

Then, we add the spices, most notably tumeric. It’s just a small amount but tumeric certainly adds the color.

We simmer everything together in veggie broth and we come up with, voila, onion stew! And that shopping expedition, the supermarket even had parsley. And okay, yes I had to fish out some lemon seeds…

Rating: 5 out of 5.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Soups & Stews, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

