Popcorn on the Cob

I hit up the Bethel Farmer’s Market this morning, and on a lark bought a cob of corn for popping.  The instructions posted there included the note that you could pop your cob in your microwave.  Holy moly, I thought, and took the ear of popcorn home.  They’d already shucked it, but here you can see how it plays out next to a standard ear of sweet corn:

Well, I put the cob into a small glass pan.  It wouldn’t quite fit even on the diagonal, but it did sorta jam down there a little.  No photo.  I wrapped paper towel around the ear and the glass dish, and placed it in the nuker.

At about the one minute mark the first kernel popped.  The staccato effect continued on, until I stopped the microwave at the three minute mark, fearful of burning earlier-popped kernels.  I opened up the unit:

ACK!!!

Okay, so I pulled the pan out, and this is what I had for food, minus the stuff that landed on the floor or remained behind in the microwave:

Note how the popped kernels had pushed the ear up and out of the pan.  I wonder what would have happened had it been able to lie on the surface of the pan when I placed it in the nuker.

The popcorn was a bit dry, but a little salt helped, and it was, all things considered, a good idea not to say, pre-coat the cob with butter or something.

Anyhow pulling out the ear with the parts still attached to it, we see the following:

To sum this up, I have a LOT left over.  Not counting the stuff that landed on the floor.  Too bad I wasn’t planning on watching all three parts of the Lord of the Rings movie this afternoon.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food Markets, Vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

