Chicken with Plum, Apple and Potato

Prep one whole chicken for roasting in the oven as follows:

To stuff bird:  coarsely chop up one small potato, and one shallot into maybe half inch bits.  Take a couple small plums and de-pit them, and slice them into the mixture.  Mix with cumin seed, oh say 1/4 teaspoon or so.  Mix in Asian Sesame Ginger sauce to coat and a little more.  Stuff bird.

Set him or her in your baking pan, breast down.  Yes, this will keep the breast moist while the bird bakes.  I don’t know about you, but the white meat tends to be dry and tasteless; this is a way to get around that.  Besides, the white meat will cook faster than the dark; this also gets around that.

By the way, this bird was free-ranged, and purchased at the Litchfield farmer’s market.

Drizzle a mix of teryaki and the Asian sauce, with a few more cumin seeds and ground pepper over the skin.  Place in pre-heated 350 F oven and bake 1.5 to 2 hours (depending on the size of your bird).  Once or twice towards the end baste your bird with the drippings.

Allow to cool and serve.

But… where’s the apple, I hear you ask?

That comes in the leftovers for work.

In the above case, I reserved a leg, thigh and a little bit of the white meat (when I raise my own chickens some day, I’ll be raising up something other than those breast-overladen Cornish Cross chickens, which I think he/she was).  In a separate skillet, I sauteed with minimal canola oil a very small red onion, a few more plums (these are the golden plums, and they’re small), a touch more Asian sauce and a hint of guaram marsala; and then after about 3-4 minutes added in a small golden apple, cored but not peeled.  Sautee further until just soft, and drape over your chicken, and refrigerate until you can nuke for lunch at work.  If you haven’t eaten all the stuffing yet, include some of that here as well.

By the way, save the drippings from the bird, and the carcass.  This will come in handy later this week for soup or stock.   I should tell the farmer that he can save the feet for me next time (they are superb in stock).  All in all, I’ll get at least five meals out of this bird.  Not counting the parts of the white meat that I share with the cats.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Cooking, Poultry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken with Plum, Apple and Potato

  1. I posted the pictured part of this before I actually ate it, which in the future will be something I avoid doing.

    Rating: 4.5 out of 5. Presentation needs some work, at least as far as The Photographer is concerned (me in another hat). Also, this was a random apple of variety unknown; I think it was a little sweeter than I prefer — but not something most people would have a distaste for. I really lack a sweet tooth. (Notice any dessert posts here yet? There will eventually be some, but the highlights and draws will be flavors other than sugar.) The Indian spices were detectable, but in the future I’d just slightly revv them up. But hey, I liked it, and I looked around at the work cafeteria food, and saw that Mine Was Good.

Leave a Reply

