Of Wild Smoked Salmon and Cucumber

I was toying with bringing something along the lines of the next appetizer I made to a party I attended last night (although the hosts were supplying most of the food).  However, I spent most of the afternoon at work and it was more direct to head to the party than go home and collect it.  So I brought a bottle of Spanish red instead.  A good time was had by all, and salmon was indeed present (served on carmelized sweet onion and topped with orange slices), as was an excellent veggie stack of eggplant, yellow squash, roast pepper and portobello with cheese.

Anyhow, I made a trial run for the future.  Ideally, I’d use larger (as in fatter) cucumber. But this is what I scored at a small farmers market (more on which later).  Sometimes at these things you can find unwaxed peels that actually taste good (the waxed ones never taste good), but this wasn’t one of those occasions so I peeled them.

Over that, a little cream cheese with a dollop of dill — from an earlier recipe here, and frozen since I can never go through an entire bunch of dill before it decays.  Over that, smoked wild sockeye salmon scored from Costco.

Simple and yum.

No muss, no fuss.  Anyhow I’ve been thinking of other riffs on this idea:  take the salmon and slice into long strips, and roll up inside a dollop of the creamy section of Brie, some dill, and a caper or two.  Or maybe chop up the cuke into caper-sized bits and insert inside.

Anyhow, Sundays I tend to make my lunches for the next three or four days at work.  Tomorrow’s lunch is below:

All veggies (not the dill) scored at farmers markets.  The yellow items are plums.  We also have cukes, shallot scapes, and peas.  Tomorrow before I head to work I’ll toss in some of my home  grown raspberries to tie the effect off.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Seafood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

