Yes, More Seafood Cheviche

Decided to try my hand at another cheviche dish.  Hot weather and all, not firing up the old oven as often as I might otherwise.   Any excuse, eh?

I found very very fresh striped bass at the Atlantic Food Market, an Asian (mostly Indochinese) food emporium in Danbury.  They clean and scale and it is up to me to bone it.  Anyhow I froze the mid-section for a few days, then pulled it out and when it was mostly thawed I deboned it into thin slices.

To this I added cherrystone clams:  one good technique for opening up clams you want to serve raw is to freeze them first… they’ll open about 1/4 inch when they thaw which makes it easier to pry them out.

Both items of seafood got placed into a small bowl, to which I added freshly squeezed lime juice, pulp and all.  As I didn’t think I had quite enough acid content to cook the produce of the sea,  especially since I had a little juice from the clams in there, I added a splash of rice vinegar.

Separately, I reconstituted some dried wakame strips in water for a few minutes, drained and added.  (They won’t open up and hydrate right if you put them into the lime/vinegar directly.)   The dish was rounded out with onion greens, chopped; some red pepper flakes, and cilantro from my yard.  Let it sit in the refrigerator for about 4-5 hours, mix it around once or twice, and eat.  (Actually, the cilantro and pepper flakes got added at the end.)

Excellent!  Yesterday I went and bought TWO striped bass, which are waiting around in my freezer for their turn at the cheviche.

Anyhow, the Atlantic Food Market:  Pretty amazing place.  Most food items are reasonbly inexpensive — they sell soft shell crabs in season that are way cheaper than the local major supermarkets, and these guys are still fresh and alive.  There are a lot of items with no name tags on them — some vegetables I’d like to try someday but I’d have to know what they’re called to figure out how to prepare them.  There are animal parts I as a professional biologist can’t even guess where they came from.  Once a long time ago they had those blackened thousand year old eggs, which I passed up on.  But their cilantro is always headily aromatic, and they carry the freshest looking baby bok choy.   They home-make spring rolls (which were last night’s dinner), and carry a pretty inclusive selection of Asian (but not any specifically-Indian) spices.

Rating:  5 out of 5.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Food Markets, Seafood, South of the Border and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

