Avocado Mango Salad

You can find the recipe for this one here: http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Mango-and-Avocado-Salad-336625

I made this one yesterday, because I’d joined a recipe swap on the cooking community named RecipeZaar, in part because it seemed like the social thing to do, but more of interest is in increasing my vegetarian cooking repetoire.  The swap is of recipes in the vegetarian/vegan category.  There are combinations of good flavors that have not yet occurred to me, and since I’m doing my best to cut out “confined animal feedlot operation” meat from my diet, doing something like this ups the good dishes I have to draw upon when in the kitchen.

I followed the recipe pretty faithfully, using half of everything (one avo, one mango, etc.) although as per usual I eyeballed rather than measured amounts of the other ingredients.  I used the white balsamic vinegar, as I had some of this, but without the suggested pinch of sugar. I cut up everything, then mixed the vinegar, lime juice, olive oil and ground pepper together separately. I ran the avocado through the dressing mixture first (as I
wasn’t going to eat this all in one sitting, and I know what happens to avocado if it hangs out exposed to oxygen a little too long, without benefit of an acidic environment). Give it a chance to survive!  Mixed it all together and tasted.  MMMMMMM.

The smoothness of the avo complemented the sweet tartness of the mango, and the mild sharpness of the sweet red onion, all tied together with the sour freshness of lime and balsamic vinegar. AND, just for fun, I put a couple sprigs of home-grown cilantro on top of the serving.

Pictured here is how a serving looked at lunch. By dinner, the balance looked less photogenic (and was the larger “half” of the salad), but it was still every bit as good.  I’d definitely do this again.

Rating:  5 out of 5.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Salads, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

