Recipezaar and me

The recipes I’m most proud of which I’ve posted on Recipezaar:

Potato/Root Salad with Lima Beans

This one was born out of a need to create something for a picnic that could withstand the heat of the day, allowing leftovers to become lunch afterwards. So, no mayo. Also, there was an individual with severe dietary restrictions, but it turned out he’d been burnt too often in the past over food served him he simply brought his own and did not test anyone’s food. However, it was fun to create, and I do recommend you use REAL potatoes with flavor, such as Yukon Gold. (I simply hated potatoes in my younger days, and had to carpet-bomb them with salt in order to make the generic things remotely edible.) Anyhow this is a good autumn dish, if one wants to be seasonal. (Vegan, no gluten.)

Quinoa With Gooseberry, Rhubarb, Fennel and Turnip

I’d bought some rhubarb (farmer’s market – for some reason I can’t find the ones I’m growing in my own yard, go figure…) and some pears (grocery), with an eye to making a pan muffin based on some Recipezaar recipe. The first plot was to make this for my herb study group, but unfortunately that got cancelled. The second plot was to make it for an occasion at work, but I had a power failure the night I was to do this. Okay, I’m not about to make a high caloric whatsit and apply it only to MY hips only, I have to spread the wealth around. And those rhubarb stalks weren’t getting any younger.

Anyhow, I found a pack of goooseberries (why they call them that? Any relation to geese??? Do geese go (Lady) Gaga over them? They don’t look like geese. Anyhow I found them in the New Morning health food store, which is probably Connecticut’s premiere health food store, nothing else here seems to compare.

I bought them on a lark.

Or, a goose. (Leave no pun unturned, I say.)

Anyhow a search for gooseberry recipes on Recipezaar turned up two non-dessert items (I did mention a reluctance for desserty hip-applications, yes?) One was in a sauce for smoked mackerel, one was for a sauce for roast chicken. Okay, yes, one can find non-dessert/muffin gooseberry applications, so I was free to invent. And like rhubarb, gooseberry is also tart. So… since I also had a hankering for quinoa, the above-linked recipe was born. BTW, where it says a teaspoon to 2 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar: make that tablespoons.

Some of the ingredient amounts are vague because I saw no need to measure. This dish is good for spring/early summer, if you cook seasonally. Okay, what happened to the pears? I leave you to wonder. (vegan, no gluten.)

Vegetarian stuffed Pasta Shells.

No, I didn’t stuff them with vegetarians. Today I just discovered that Bed, Bath and Beyond sells an olive de-pitter. Damn, I would have LOVED that! The worst part of making this dish was de-pitting quality olives. You can cut down the prep time if you have one of those gizmos. This was a big hit where I served it, and the vegetarians who were supposed to attend didn’t even show up. BTW, I’d wanted to score baba ganoush, but none was available; overall I think the eggplant I scored and prepped worked fine. (Vegetarian. Egg is in mayo, and those pasta shells probably had both egg and gluten.)

Sparkling lime or lemon beverage

You don’t need sugar or fake sweeteners, just a lemon or a lime, or juice from a lemon or a lime.  Stands on its own. I land in the Zone and smile… (Vegan, no gluten, raw even.)

Lil Devils Deviled Eggs.

The deviling recipe is my mom’s. The creative attack I took on design was my own. Served at Halloween, of course. The secret ingredient is curry powder (this does NOT make them Indian, it just makes these eggs go to a new level that many others do not.) (Vegetarian, obviously, but also gluten-free.)

Maine Shrimp

Basic. No effort at all. You just have to find Maine shrimp, best found in the winter along the New England area. (Piscevorian, gluten free.)

Baby Octopus and Potato

Again, make sure the potato is Yukon Gold or similar. (Piscevorian, gluten free.)

Interesting. It doesn’t seem I’ve posted any mammalian meat dishes I die over yet. I do remain a decided omnivore.  I’m mentioning the gluten free where this is applicable because one co-worker who regularly lunches with me is on a gluten-restricted diet. Then again, he doesn’t cook, so maybe this is superfluous.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

