Fluke Redux

The first fluke fillet was dealt with in a cooking episode as listed below.  Now, we go raw.

I thawed the strip out, and before it was completely thawed,  sliced it as thinly as possible, coming into the flesh at an angle.  About three-fourths of it was finely sliced when I was done.  The rest I cut as thicker slices.  The photo shows thin strips of fluke and on the remaining uncarved portion of fillet you can see the angled cut.

The finely sliced pieces made a wonderful sashimi platter when topped with chopped onion grass (from my lawn, and no I don’t use herbicides on my lawn — if I did, it probably wouldn’t be growing there), and a blob of wasabi (from a tube, alas) helped supplement.  (It doesn’t look like it, but this plate is actually only a saucer.  It’s not as much fish or wasabi as you think.)

Very cool and refreshing, and the fish is so delicate you barely need to use much of that drop of wasabi at all!

The other quarter of the fluke fillet, or maybe it was a third, was marinated in a little lime juice along with a few fresh peas and some onion grass.  The acid of the lime juice “cooks” the fish, making a ceviche, a dish traditional in some form or another to Peru.  (I need to go to Peru.  I need to explore all manners of ceviches.  I need to try coy…)

The last time I attempted a ceviche, I found that the seafood I’d used (I think I was following a recipe using shrimp) turned hard and rubbery.  So this will be marinated for a shorter length of time.  Maybe I was being extra-cautious about “cooking” the shrimp.

One thing about do-it-yourself raw seafood:  Give it a really good sniff test, don’t use any fish of a type never seen in sushi restaurants, don’t use freshwater seafood; and for extra insurance, unless you pull it off the boat at the same time as a reputable sushi chef, freeze it a few days first.

Okay, I gave it an hour.  It’s a delicate fish, after all, and one that we’d just done up as sashimi, so my health has already been compromised.  In the photo it is sitting in the bowl I used to marinate; it turns out it is best if you you serve it after you remove it from the lime juice.

Either the sashimi or the ceviche presentation would undoubtably taste good laid out on a mild-mannered Boston lettuce leaf or two.  Hmm, and I am slapping my forehead:  the cilantro I’ve got growing would have been awesome in the ceviche!  (I coulda had a V8!)

Rating for both of the above: 5 out of 5, especially if I could go back in time and use the cilantro on the ceviche.

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

