First Off

One’s first post in  a blog is supposed to come in like a lion, and maybe go out like a lamb (reverse the month of March to get the idea).

This is going to be a food blog. I’ve been fascinated by food since, oh, say, infancy.  My mother told me if I didn’t get my regular feedings at the regular feeding times, I threw tantrums.   She blamed this on the received wisdom of the time that regular feedings helped a child develop properly and with stability.  And of course when those set-in-stone times couldn’t happen due to life being life, apparently the infant-I was mightily displeased.

I don’t remember any of this, of course.

I understand I went through the childhood list of food-phobias, I don’t remember much about this other than what I’ve been told, except that at a certain point I hated peas.  I remember reasoning, if potatoes tasted better mashed, maybe peas would, too.   So, I tried that. I should not have done that while the parents were watching:  “STOP PLAYING WITH YOUR FOOD AND EAT IT!”  I tried to explain I was attempting to make peas edible, but I didn’t really have the language at the time.  (I like peas now, but I suspect those peas were those canned things that were so prevalent years ago.)

I do come from an inventive food family.  We subscribed to the motto, “Try everything once”.  I didn’t mind that.  I was scared to death of fish bones until I caught my first fish and insisted that I eat it, around age six or seven.  Mind you, the thing was about the size of a half dollar.   After that, I’ve been totally sold on seafood.  Chicken fascinated me.  We’d roast up the whole bird, and I’d follow the musculature, bone to bone.   I was a pre-adolescent anatomist.  I wanted to know how muscles worked.

Dad one day came home with a lamb’s head.  He was always coming home with something, but this was one of the most unusual.  But yes, try everything once, and the lamb’s head was good.

Probably the only food that just simply texturally grosses me out is cottage cheese.  Doesn’t mean, even today, that I like everything, but  I’ll give most things a gander, even including the gander.  In college, living on a real budget, I considered writing a cookbook entitled “101 Budget Hot Dog Recipes”.  Nowadays, however, I’m put off by factory farming, and I also believe in supporting my local farmers’ markets.  There are two of them, equidistant from my house.

I started this blog because I was surfing for sweetbread recipes (thymi… thymuses…??).  I was finding far too many people breading them (which kind of hides what sweetbreads are about), or using a cream sauce, which I didn’t have available.  I ran into a recipe that gave me ideas even though I didn’t use that recipe.  But this woman was going through and cooking every single recipe in The French Laundry cookbook. Now, she is cooking every single recipe in the Alinea cookbook… okay, this second restaurant’s cookbook I’ve never heard of until now, but the main thing is this blogger can WRITE.

Me, hey, I can take on the Zuni Cafe cookbook, or maybe Diana Kennedy’s Cuisines of Mexico.   I don’t think so.  I’ll do selected items from both books, but I’m not obsessive enough to do all.  Besides, I live alone.  I do inflict stuff on people at work… they’re constantly asking me what I’ve brought in today.  I’m not going to make something I won’t eat. I’ll test a lot, but I know if I won’t eat it, seems environmentally nasty to make it. Also, some food items take a person sitting around the range for hours on end, and I lack the time to do that.

Okay.  I’m on board and blogging.  🙂

About goatsandgreens

The foodie me: Low/no gluten, low sugars, lots of ethnic variety of foods. Seafood, offal, veggies. Farmers' markets. Cooking from scratch, and largely local. The "future" me: Building a log home in rural western Massachusetts. Will be raising chickens and goats/sheep. Raising veggies and going solar.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Off

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

