Cole Slaw Potluck Salad

I am seldom sure what I will be eating when I go to potlucks, so I like to err on the healthier side of things when I add in my contribution.  In this case, it also promised to be a really HOT day, so I wanted a salad to bring.  In addition, if something is going to sit out in the hot sun, I’d rather not incorporate certain ingredients (hello, mayo???).

Salad Cole Slaw

A healthy bowl

The weather actually broke sooner than we expected, but I’m glad I brought this dish, anyway.  And probably it really was the healthiest dish there, and it did taste good, at least to those of us who like our veggies.  (Someone brought this really awesome jalapeno bean dip…  okay, I am supposed to minimize my legumes, but hey, the occasional… as something I recently read in my online surfing said, or to this effect, “if the worst thing you eat is legumes, you really don’t have very many worries…”  Amen.)

And I have leftovers (a half a cabbage makes a HELL of a lot of salad) to take to work during the coming week.  The hostess did keep a segment for herself and her hubby.  :)

Ingredients, Salad Proper:

Approx. 1/2 red cabbage, thin sliced then chopped.  You can use green, but the purple has extra anti-oxidants for extra visual effect.  (You decide which is more important.)
6 ounces baby corn, in 1/2 inch segments.  If you get them canned, they’re already cooked.    Drain.  If you get them fresh (as I did), simmer in hot water for about 5 minutes, drain, and use.
1/3 cup diced onion, white or yellow.
10 ounces broccoli slaw — that was the package size I used.  This broccoli slaw came with a little slawed-up carrot.  You can make your own using broccoli stems, if you have copious free time.  I’m not a fan of carrots, taste-wise, but slawed up is fine.
1 pound cucumber, finely sliced.  If using mini cukes, as I did, go ahead leave the skin on.  But if full-sized, and/or waxed, remove skin, and then quarter the slices.

To Top:

1 tablespoon drained capers, more or less.
4 small plums, pitted and chopped.  These sweet things were a really fine bonus from my nearby farmer’s market.  Couldn’t resist.

Slaw

purple cabbage and a broccoli slaw mix

Salad dressing/vinaigrette:

Add to a measuring cup:

1/8 cup avocado oil (or extra virgin olive oil)
1 tablespoon nitella/kalunji seeds  (these are Indian.  If you don’t have, go with poppy seeds)
1 tablespoon white sesame seeds
1/4-1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
(depending on potency and taste)
1/4 teaspoon cracked ground pepper
a pinch of Celtic sea salt
Fill to 1/2 cup with apple cider vinegar (or red wine vinegar)

To make:

Mix the main ingredients.

Add the toppings, on top.

Drizzle the dressing while mixing vigorously with a fork.

Marinate an hour or two.

This item was well-received, at least by the vegetable-eating portion of the crowd, at the potluck I attended yesterday.

(I will admit I ate foods yesterday that are terribly not on my food plan.  They are all off for the next few months and hopefully, years.  Potato chips.  Factory burgers – without the buns, but still.   And it was my choice.  Never expect others to eat the way you’d prefer — unless they are your dependent children.  If you do choose to go off your food plan in a short-term controlled way — please do enjoy the people you are with.  I did.)

This entry was posted in Commentary, Cooking, Salads, Vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cole Slaw Potluck Salad

  1. Renz says:

    This is so timely, I’ve been looking around for a healthy dish to bring to a potluck on the 22nd and I’m glad I found your salad. The potluck is a vegan/organic lifestyle potluck so this is a perfect fit!
    I’m a recent practitioner of the Paleo diet so this recipe is so in!

  2. I completely understand about not wanting to use mayo in hot weather pot luck dishes. The salad is excellent – I love the choice of veggies & interesting use of nigella/kalonji seeds. Your ‘ducky’ posts are also fabulous. I crave duck but am waiting for the holidays to enjoy our annual duck l’orange.

    chow :) Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

Leave a Reply

