Bobcat Surprise. And My “The Meal” Photo and Basic Recipe (Salad)

For our first trick, we’re going to roast a bobcat… No, only kidding.

Not ready for the cover of National Geographic, but it's MY wildlife!

This is the feller that strayed into my side yard yesterday.  The photos are less than stellar, but he (she?) wasn’t going to stand still for it.  The stunning creature was a silver-grey tabby with spots as well as a few stripes — a nice light coat coloration with darker moments.  Great for snow camo in the woods, not that there’s been that much snow to hide against.  I was thinking, “Oh my gawd” as  I sprung for my camera.

Cats on steroids, I was thinking.  I was thinking, “lynx”, but it probably was a bobcat (which is in the same eponymous genus as lynx anyway).  The ears screamed bobcat.  The cat was well over three times the size of my tubby 17 pound tame indoor one.

I had been sitting at this very computer, at the dining room table, when I happened to catch something out the doorway.  It was the cat.  I was stunned.  He was beautiful.  An awesome feral beast, like an overgrown yet sleek house cat, but that face was not that of any house cat.  I grabbed the camera (luckily also on the table) and jumped outdoors, barefoot, before this great creature could get away.

I snapped about four shots, and he got away, over a ledge and down into the woody undergrowth in front of my house.  Awesome, I feel blessed.

He's looking me in the eye. (It looks like he has three of them. No, he only had two. But his tail is definitely bobbed.)

I guess he was at least 40 pounds in weight, and that he was somewhat smaller than a German shepherd.  I reported him to the Connecticut DEP.  They seem to be in favor of bobcats but also in favor of letting people know to watch their own pets in regions where certain types of wildlife are reported.

###

As for the Meal photo.

Due to lighting issues, I decided I’d photograph this item out of doors.  Which meant, since it was really going to be a meal, as well as part of a project, that it would have to be a salad. I do believe in “hot things hot, cold things cold”.

Yes, I ate everything except the lemon rind

I used items already in the house — I did not purchase anything extra for this meal/shoot. However, I did select to arrange items that would add “color”, shall we say.  And it really was a one-course meal (whatever was on that plate), no beverages or sides.

Ingredients:

Various lettuces and greens
Red (purple?) cabbage
A small bit of chopped onion
Smoked wild salmon (Costco)
Capers
Chipotle-seasoned Gouda cheese
A smattering of seaweed salad marinated in extra virgin olive oil, vinegar, and just a minute splash of hot sesame seed oil
Pea sprouts
Cracked ground pepper to taste
Slice of lemon

Lay out larger leafs of greens, then artistically cover the plate with everything else.   Keep the cheese and the salmon in its own respective areas, and use the capers with the salmon, as well as at least some of the onion.  When it is time to eat (after any photographic antics) squeeze the lemon over the salmon.

I am in the photo.  That’s my hand, and that’s my lap.

Optional is any additional vinaigrette.  I didn’t need to use.

This entry was posted in Commentary, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bobcat Surprise. And My “The Meal” Photo and Basic Recipe (Salad)

  1. Bob cat photo was impressive.

Leave a Reply

