Into Each Life a Little gRain Must Fall

We had a bake sale to benefit a non-profit.  I bake (baked goods) about three times a year, but when I do so, I go as scratch as possible.

I made multigrain cinnamon muffins.  With a few fancy ingredients.  And yes, this does have gluten.

muffins off to perform their bake sale duty

1 cup multigrain cereal (see package photo below)  Stuff is mostly whole oats with rye and so forth, all looking pretty “whole”, just like the flakes of oatmeal from those Quaker Oats cylinders.  I adapted the recipe from the cylinder of multigrain cereal.
1,5 cups flour.  I used 1 part whole wheat to one part Trader Joe’s almond meal.  (I started liking almond meal after that Indian cooking class I took last summer.  Before that, almond was only good in coffee or liquor.  I still  dislike finding slivers of the things in veggies, however!  Anyhow the bag from Trader Joe’s claims a one to one substitution in baking is recommended, so I experimented with that.
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 /2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder – the original calls for half of this, but when it comes to cinnamon, why be subtle there????

all sorts of grains in big bits

1 cup unsweetened applesauce  – Yes, you can use Mott’s, but if you have any other options, say from a local orchard, perhaps check that out?  Yes, at this time of the year where I am located, these are typically closed.  Fortitiously, I had the remains of a jar of it stashed away from Blue Jay Orhards in Bethel, CT, last fall’s crop, opened for the pork recipe prior to this one.  (It’s ruined me from the supermarket kind.)
1/2 cup milk (minus 2 tablespoons, read the next ingredient) — I went with whole, supermarket.  The recipe calls for low fat or soy milk; but hey, these are MUFFINS.
1/4 cup maple syrup – the recipe called for 1/2 cup brown sugar, but I’d gotten a tasty stash of the real stuff from the Litchfield Farmer’s market on my travels north last weekend, and wanted to use it.  An Internet surfing spree netted me the info that the baking equivalent for syrup to sugar is that one cup of sugar can be replaced with 1/2 – 2/3 cups of syrup, and you have to decrease the volume of other liquids in your recipe by 1/4 cup (hence 1/8 a a cup above = 2 tablespoons).  Enough with the math stuff already!
1/4 cup oil – whatever mild veggie oil you want.  I used avocado oil.
1 egg, truly farm fresh.

Preheat oven to 400 F.

syrup, oil, egg – nice swirly pattern

Mix all the wet ingredients together in one bowl, and all the dry ingredients together in another, larger bowl.

Add the wet stuff to the dry stuff, and mix by hand.

To prevent sticking, rub a minute amount of oil on the bottoms of your muffin holes in your muffin pans.

Add your dough to the pans.

The recipe says cook 18-20 minutes, I found mine were ready by about 16-17 minutes.  Maybe it’s my substitutions.  Maybe it’s my oven.

It made 11 muffins, at least in my hands.  Oh, the recipe on the package called for making up some sort of a sweet toping, but I’d rather not, thank you.

They were a success!   And, at  any rate, I’m now all out of applesauce.

This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Cooking, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

