Juicing Test, First Attempt. And, Second.

Smoothies can be pretty good, but they are usually laden down with sugar and sometimes with cream.  I just wanted to go right out raw, and I don’t mean (at least this time) sashimi. Or cheviche.

Here we go, first shot out:

1 cup grapes (seedless, please!).  I used green.
1 medium plum, peeled and cored
a goodly handful of fresh cilantro
1 scallion
1/2 jalapeno, de-seeded
1 small lime, peeled and de-seeded. (This one turned out not to have seeds.)

Notes:  chop up the lime, in part to see if you find any seeds.  You can leave some of the zest in there.   (Why do they call that stuff, “zest”?)  Chop up everything except the grapes.

I used a Cuisinart Smart Stick to make my mixture.  Added a little water to help it along, and then mixed.  WORD ABOUT THE SMART STICK:  This is definitely NOT the implement to have around you if you have small inquisitive children, especially if they know how to use electrical outlets.   There aren’t any of those in this house (children, that is), and the cats, while inquisitive, haven’t figured out how to plug anything in.  Yet.

All right.  It came out rather thick, but I figured when going into this better thick than thin (is this like seeing something through “thick and thin”?)   I can always add water, and I’d even picked up some seltzer water because sometimes I like my beverages fizzy.  Anyhow, having the stock thick keeps my options open.

Ooops!  WAYYYY too hot and WAYYYY too tart!  You see, the last time I bought jalopenos there, they had no flavor.  They may as well have been masqurading as bell peppers, they were nearly that bland.

Okay, how to salvage this experiment, how to salvage… Perfectly good fruits and veggies were going to go to waste (rather than waist) if I didn’t think of something.

I grabbed an avocado that was handily lying around, picked the ripest of the lot, which turned out to be almost nearly ripe, and added it.  (The rest of the avocados will now wait a couple of days before I turn them into a Recipezaar/Food.com guacamole swap recipe.  Good to know…)

okay, so to above recipe add:

1 avocado, pitted and peeled.

Pulverize by any means handy or by Smart Stick.

Stands up to a straw!

Hmm, quite tasty, and when diluted down with water or seltzer water, will be quite refreshing!   (Should I consider this the Second Attempt?)  Anyhow the final mixture as shown above was nearly 2 cups worth.

I tried it both ways:  1 part  mixture to 2 parts water.   A little too spicy but otherwise not bad at all.  It almost had the taste of cucumber going in there, and one could taste cilantro.  Nicely granular and just oozing with fiber.

Next up was 1 part mixture to 4 parts seltzer.  The heat was at a good level, but the result was texture-wise a little too watery but I like the fizz factor.  Still overtones of cucumber.  Wish I had some in the house; would be an excellent idea for a next trial!   (We’re getting pelleted by ice pellets outside, so that venture will have to wait.)

This entry was posted in Cooking, Juicing, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

